Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Novice Needs Advice

• Please log in to reply

sbabc1

sbabc1

• Pip
  • 8 posts
And I mean serious advice. My computer is processing too slow for the new virtual 3D games and down/uploading web pages. It is an IBM Thinkpad with two T2300 1.66Ghz processors. I have Windows XP Pro with automatic updates. I am also an online student, so speed, reliability, and budget are very important. I have thought about going to a desktop since I know I could get a better computer for the same price.

Can anybody please give me advice about what specifications and components to start looking for?

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,999 posts
  • MVP
You need to (1) set your priorities - what is the primary purpose of the computer? By your post, it seems gaming is more important than having a good computer for school work. As a parent and grandparent, that raises red flags.

(2) Set a budget. You say budget is very important, and I agree. But not going over $3000 may be just as important to Joe as as not going over $600 is to Moe.

$600 can buy you a really decent computer for school and work projects, on-line banking, email, surfing the net, listening to music or watch movies. But it will not buy a really decent game machine.

sbabc1

sbabc1

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts