Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need help with my first gaming build.

• Please log in to reply

drago165

drago165

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello i am new to the pc gaming realm and i am getting ready to build my own pc i have all the parts i think i need but would like someone with experience to review it and tell me if it is a good build, also i would like you to make sure i have everything i need and do not have any overpriced or unnecessary parts. i greatly appreciate your help thanks in advance. here is what i have

processor: i5 2500k

Motherboard: Asus p8p67 pro intel p67

RAM: patriot g2 series 8gb

Hard drive: western digital 1TB 7200 rpm

Video Card: NVIDIA Geforce 560Ti

Sound card: Sound blaster audigy

Case: Azza helios 910

PSU: modxstream pro 600-watt

CPU cooler: cooler master hyper n520

also have 1600x900 monitor, keyboard, mouse and operating system.

Edited by drago165, 03 August 2011 - 02:02 AM.

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,999 posts
  • MVP
Several things.

1. Using a 3rd party cooler on the CPU voids the 3 year warranty. This is because the CPU comes packaged, sold and is warrantied, as "a single unit".

2. That motherboard has very capable integrated sound - a sound card is a waste of money.

3. You say you have the OS - understand that a OEM license of Windows that came with, or was bought for another computer is NOT transferable to a new computer. Doing so is illegal, and is considered theft. Note too with 8Gb, you need 64-bit OS.