Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Graphics temps are VERY high


  • Please log in to reply

#1
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
Hi - XP SP3 - RAM = 2.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2,
95% free space, seems to be slowing a bit lately also.
Just noticed in Speccy that Graphics temps are VERY high ? ?
The tower was cleaned several weeks back, and this seems odd unless the Graphics card is faulty - -
All other temps are mid 20's but graphics are running at about 60C soon after startup - - -
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Fan Speed 1739 RPM
Bus Speed 266.9 MHz
Rated Bus Speed 1067.5 MHz
Stock Core Speed 2400 MHz
Stock Bus Speed 266 MHz
Average Temperature 21 C - - -

Graphics
GeForce 8500 GT
GPU G86
Temperature 62 C - - -

Next - Shutdown for 1 hour - - -
Graphics - 30 Seconds after startup -
Temperature 56 C - - -

Any Ideas ? ? Thanks.

EDIT -
The page "timed out" as I was posting this and I needed to repost -

Edited by noknojon, 08 August 2011 - 04:41 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
I now installed SpeedFan program and it is giving some very odd readings.
As the problem is not getting better (worse if anything), I need to dismantle the tower in the morning (9 PM now). :)

It is shut down but I still have my lappy to post this -

Thanks to any who looked - :unsure:
  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download Speedfan (The download link is to the right), and install it. Once it's installed, run the program and post here the information it shows.
The information I want you to post is the stuff that is circled in the example picture I have attached.
To make sure we are getting all the correct information it would help us if you were to attach a screenshot like the one below of your Speedfan results.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard.
  • It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
  • Now go to Start and then to All Programs
  • Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
  • In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
  • Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
  • Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop
  • Attach it to your next reply

Posted Image




Please download and run Hardware Monitor
Installation (setup version only)
HWMonitor is a hardware monitoring program that reads PC systems main health sensors : voltages, temperatures, fans speed.
The program handles the most common sensor chips, like ITE IT87 series, most Winbond ICs, and others. In addition, it can read modern CPUs on-die core thermal sensors, as well has hard drives temperature via S.M.A.R.T, and video card GPU temperature.
Get a screenshot of the sensors and include it in your next post.

Motherboard Info:

Download SIW from HERE and get the Standalone English version
It will install itself and when finished

Then Click on SIW Icon to run program
On the left side click on the Motherboard directory and then on the right, copy and paste the information in your next reply
On the left side click on the Sensors directory and then on the right, copy and paste the information in your next reply

http://www.gtopala.c...w-download.html
  • 0

#4
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
[attachment=51769:next screen.JPG]
Also look at Voltages ? Very low ?
new shot posted
EDIT - I screwed up and forgot to save to desktop -

Edited by noknojon, 08 August 2011 - 09:51 PM.

  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Get the SIW screenshot so I can verify the temps.
  • 0

#6
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
Sensor Value Min Max
JOHN-1E5571CE01
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5B
Voltages
CPU VCORE 1.05 V 1.00 V 1.13 V
VIN1 1.86 V 1.86 V 1.86 V
+3.3V 3.30 V 3.30 V 3.30 V
+5V 4.94 V 4.94 V 4.94 V
+12V 13.94 V 0.11 V 13.94 V
VIN5 1.61 V 1.61 V 1.61 V
VIN6 0.01 V 0.01 V 0.06 V
Temperatures
SYSTIN 28 C (82 F) 27 C (80 F) 28 C (82 F)
CPUTIN 28 C (82 F) 28 C (82 F) 30 C (85 F)
AUXTIN 122 C (250 F) 119 C (246 F) 122 C (250 F)
Fans
SYSFANIN 1205 RPM 1196 RPM 1205 RPM
CPUFANIN0 1730 RPM 1704 RPM 1739 RPM
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Temperatures
Core #0 21 C (69 F) 21 C (69 F) 23 C (73 F)
Core #1 20 C (67 F) 20 C (67 F) 21 C (69 F)
WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0
Temperatures
Assembly 25 C (76 F) 25 C (76 F) 25 C (76 F)
NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT
Temperatures
TMPIN0 56 C (132 F) 56 C (132 F) 56 C (132 F)
TMPIN0 56 C (132 F) 56 C (132 F) 56 C (132 F)
Fans PWM
FANPWMIN0 30 % 30 % 30 %
Property Value
JOHN-1E5571CE01
Summary
Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Model P5B
Version Rev 1.xx
Serial Number MB-1234567890
Bridge
North Bridge Intel P965/G965 Revision C2
South Bridge Intel 82801HB/HR (ICH8/R) Revision B0
CPU
Name Intel® Core™2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
Cpu Socket Socket 775 LGA
Max CPU Speed 3800 MHz
Memory
Maximum Capacity 4096 MBytes
Maximum Memory Module Size 2048 MBytes
Memory Slots 4
Memory Type DDR2
System Slots
ISA 0
PCI 4
AGP 0
VL-BUS 0
EISA 0
PCMCIA 0
ExpressCard 0
MCA 0
  • 0

#7
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
Repasted sensors just to be sure - - - -
Voltages tend to 'float' all over the place at times.

Sensor Value Min Max
JOHN-1E5571CE01
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5B
Voltages
CPU VCORE 1.02 V 1.00 V 1.16 V
VIN1 1.86 V 1.86 V 1.86 V
+3.3V 3.30 V 3.30 V 3.30 V
+5V 4.94 V 4.92 V 4.94 V
+12V 14.00 V 0.06 V 14.00 V
VIN5 1.61 V 1.61 V 1.61 V
VIN6 0.06 V 0.01 V 0.06 V
Temperatures
SYSTIN 29 °C (84 °F) 27 °C (80 °F) 29 °C (84 °F)
CPUTIN 28 °C (82 °F) 28 °C (81 °F) 30 °C (85 °F)
AUXTIN 122 °C (250 °F) 119 °C (246 °F) 122 °C (250 °F)
Fans
SYSFANIN 1240 RPM 1196 RPM 1250 RPM
CPUFANIN0 1739 RPM 1704 RPM 1748 RPM
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Temperatures
Core #0 22 °C (71 °F) 21 °C (69 °F) 24 °C (75 °F)
Core #1 20 °C (67 °F) 20 °C (67 °F) 23 °C (73 °F)
WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0
Temperatures
Assembly 26 °C (78 °F) 25 °C (76 °F) 26 °C (78 °F)
NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT
Temperatures
TMPIN0 56 °C (132 °F) 55 °C (130 °F) 56 °C (132 °F)
TMPIN0 56 °C (132 °F) 55 °C (130 °F) 56 °C (132 °F)
Fans PWM
FANPWMIN0 30 % 30 % 30 %

All fans and the case were cleaned with air and brushes earlier - -
Sensor Value Min Max
JOHN-1E5571CE01
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5B
Voltages
This is what I mean with Voltages - -
+12V 0.11 V 0.06 V 14.00 V Current reading.

Edited by noknojon, 08 August 2011 - 11:42 PM.

  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yeah that +12 volt rail is a little unstable to say the least.
The GPU is going to run warmer and actually those temps are right where they should be for idle.
I would say the reason your GPU seems to rise may be directly related to that +12 volt rail.
How old is the PSU and what brand, make and model is it?
  • 0

#9
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power RS-430-PCAR 400W ATX Form Factor 12V V2.01 Power Supply Written on the unit -
The above is also from 'NEWEGG' details and matches the picture of mine. No longer stocked - - -
This unit would be about ? 6 ? years old, that I know of, and never worked hard.
But a Power Supply can fail like this and cause this problem ! ! Maybe I can remove the one from my old computer and use that ?
Minor extra details . . . .
The unit was not mine but I have looked after it for about 2 or 3 years for the original owner.
They mainly used it for watching English TV (from Australia), email, and a few other minor programs. Never over 25% used space.
It is the type of computer that never was used for gaming (on or off line), but they did not use decent A/virus, MBAM, SAS or similar tools.
I first cleaned all minor infections off it, but the unit became very unstable about 4 months ago.
The owner replaced it recently (a new Win7) and gave it to me to do what I wanted. As it was much bigger than my old 1g unit, I reinstalled XP Pro and have used it ever since.
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is the other PSU you mentioned at least close to the same wattage as the one you are having problems with?
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
My old unit has a 600 Watt unit.

Astro 600 watt power supply - Model : 340U


  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It should work temporarily.
  • 0

#13
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts

It should work temporarily.

As in short time only ? ? This Astro is from a pre-made Samsung ?

EDIT - The other (bad) unit was a custom made unit, I was told.
Also I cannot find much info on the ASTRO - -

Edited by noknojon, 09 August 2011 - 10:03 PM.

  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well I can't tell you for sure how long it will work. It could work for weeks, months or just a couple of days.
Make sure it has all the right connections before removing it for the new system.
What I meant by temporarily is that if it were me I would want a name brand good stable PSU. Cheating on a PSU is like holding a lit match around gasoline. You might not have a problem but eventually it will blow up in your face.
Cheap unproven PSU's can not only short out but could potentially cause a fire in your system.
  • 0

#15
noknojon

noknojon

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 531 posts
I understand - - -

The new PSU may need to wait for christmas / birthday or other occasion due to cost (even though it is not a lot).
Thanks for all the help and I will take your advice but I need to replace the PSU and keep a close look on temps and funny smells from the computer.:unsure:

Again, Thanks -:) -
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP