Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Programs Freezing/Crashing ever since reformat

• Please log in to reply

Grea Lauren

Grea Lauren

• PipPip
  • 34 posts
My mom is having some serious computer problems that even I can't find the answer to (I'm not a professional but I'm good at research) and I saw your answer to a post I had come across, and thought maybe you could help me.

My mom recently got a virus (Virtumonde x.x) from an ad off DeviantArt.com and we had to reformat her computer. She uses XP but the only disc we had was from an older version. She's also pretty much replaced every single thing in her computer so I'm wondering if some of the drivers didn't get replaced but I checked the Device Manager and only 4 things are showing up and they all say something about audio.. though 4 pops saying 'new hardware' every time she restarts is driving her nuts as well.

The problem she is having is that a lot of programs she uses, like Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, and Second life, freezes and crashes a lot. I just checked the error log thing (forgot what it's called.. I'm running on like 4 hours of sleep or so.) and I see all the errors but I can't find out what all the faults and hangups mean. That's actually how I found your post.

I also know she tried installing Windows XP SP3 so I don't know where she got it from and if it just made problems worse, or if Virtumonde just f*cked her hard drive up royally.