Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Black Screen with Blinking Cursor on the top left


  • Please log in to reply

#106
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yep it may be the driver you have installed is corrupt so reinstalling it from DriverMax may correct the issue.
Just a note with DriverMax free you can only download and install 2 drivers a day.
  • 0

Advertisements


#107
lavondaljt

lavondaljt

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Did you get to take a look at the page i sent you about the drivers. I sent you a link in a past post that had all the different drivers that needed to be updated.

I dont think that I downloaded the right one, in fact I really didn't know what I was doing. I think that I messsed up cause nothing has changed. in fact, it's gotten worse. The computer is running very slow, i'm getting all these boxes popping up talking about indexing is not complete, and when i reboot, it takes it's time getting to the windows xp logo...it stays on the black page for about 20 seconds then starts loading.

I wish there was some way you could lock on to my laptop from where you are and see everything like the files, programs, etc. That way you coulld have control and see exacty what was going on. Someone needs to invent something like that. It could be used just for this purpose. LOL

anyway, take a look at the link a couple of post back and let me know. There are several issues that I ask about that i wasn't sure of. Thanks again.

ttyl
Lavonda

Edited by lavondaljt, 03 September 2011 - 08:43 PM.

  • 0

#108
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
This is the link for Pc Pitstop HERE
If you look at the drivers the only one it shows that is out of date is your Network adapter.
Now if you look at the fixes tab you will see lots of stuff that can be done. Is this the link your are talking about?
If you can tell me the exact post you are talking about I will take a look.
  • 0

#109
lavondaljt

lavondaljt

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
there are 2 links that I needed youo to take a look at one is on page 7 post 99 and the driver one is also on page 7 post 101. I dont konw what gong on, but the computer is running very slow and it takes me forever to get anywhere

I am using Micosoft Security Essentials as my virus program and it works great. It shows that everythng is ok. But something is not right!!

Edited by lavondaljt, 04 September 2011 - 11:28 AM.

  • 0

#110
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Post 99 is the PC PitStop report and I have addressed that in my last post.
The other is the DriverMax report and I would suggest you start at the top and get 2 each day of the ones with the red X's and install them. Do that till you have everything updated. Somewhere in all that is the culprit I'm sure.
Now that you have the system back in Windows it will just take time and patience to egt everything updated. It took me a week to get my wife's system updated since hers had even more red x's then what yours is showing. Her's now runs great with the exception she likes to have a dozen programs running all at the same time.
  • 0

#111
lavondaljt

lavondaljt

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
ok, so now i just go thru the downloads with the red x's and when i'm finished, one of those woud have fixed the probem. I'll get started on that asap.

Not to throw a wrinkle in the plan, but i got this message a little while ago but don't understand why. Here's the link to the page it took me to after the box popped up.

http://wer.microsoft...f6-63718fb58568

nothing like that happpend at all....i didn't get a blue screen or anything ike that....the only thing i can tell you is that when i reboot it starts out with the black screen then it flashes 2 more screens, still black, then it goes to the blinking cursor and I think "here we go again", but it then goes to the Windows XP screen and works well from there on out.

Please take a look at the link above and let me know what you think.

Thanks agian for all your help

ttyl
lavonda
  • 0

#112
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
All I can see from it is that it is saying your video driver again but I know you updated that already according to the DriverMax link.
Continue on with the next two and let me know if they update.
  • 0

#113
lavondaljt

lavondaljt

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
I'm having trouble downloading some of the drivers because the xp disk that i have says "SP2" on it and during the download of the drivers, i get a popup that tells me to put in the XP SP3 disk to continue. What do i do.....I looked in "control panel" under "system" and it says Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 3.

I dont know what to do. I still have about 10 drivers to download that require sp3 disk.

let me know...
  • 0

#114
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Push and hold the Windows key on keyboard. This is the one with the Microsft windows logo on it.
While holding Win key down click on the Pause\Break key

This should open the System properties window
On this window it will show

System info:

Microsoft Windows: type and version
Service Pack number

Registered Name
Register Number

Computer:
CPU type
Memory
I need all the above info in your next reply Except for Register name and number.
This is private and we don't need to know this information
  • 0

#115
lavondaljt

lavondaljt

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
the word "pause" is on the insert key and the word "break" is on the delete key. what to do now?
  • 0

Advertisements


#116
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Right click on My Computer and then click on Properties. That will get you to the same window as above.
  • 0

#117
lavondaljt

lavondaljt

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
System:

Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 3



Registered to:




Computer:

Intel® Pentium®M
processor 1500MHz
1.49 GHz, 1.00 GB of RAM


That's all it says....I left out the registered part.
  • 0

#118
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It shows you have SP3 already installed so I'm not sure why the installations are not working now. Since the ones you are trying to update are saying this skip them and try the next ones.
  • 0

#119
lavondaljt

lavondaljt

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
hey man.....i'm still here....still having problems too....all the downloads 8 of them all said to download SP3....bla,bla,bla.....I dont know what else todo

I went to my control panel and clicked on display to change my background, and the only thing there was "THEMES".....NO other tabs like "SETTINGS"....etc

I coud not even change my screen resol. I'm having problems with some pages running off the screen and me having to scroll over to the right to read the whole sentence.

What's going on here? hope to talkj to you soon

Lavonda
  • 0

#120
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I would suggest you go into Add\Remove Programs and click on the top of the screen the little box that says Show all updates.
Scroll down till you find the SP3 update under Microsoft and then uninstall it.
Then go back to and try to install the update I had you download earlier.
Once it shows successfully installed then try to install the other updates that need SP3 and see what happens.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP