Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Smartphone Debate - Blackberry vs iPhone vs Android

• Please log in to reply

derek1024

derek1024

• PipPip
  • 35 posts
Hey guys,

This kind of debate seems really cliche since we argue about stuff like this all the time. However, my phone contract is almost up and I'm really torn between the three types of smartphones. I hear many good things about each and every one of them but I also hear the negatives as well.

I'm a student who prioritizes on accessing the Internet with his smartphone and wants to get his hands on as many kinds of apps as possible.

Here's what I hear about each phone so far. Dispel any of these "myths" if you know the truth to it please.

Blackberry
- Good for business purposes such as emailing
- Terrible browser
- Almost no customization other than the background and icons.
- Archaic OS
- Many service failures by RIM
- Nice QWERTY keyboard for most
- Trackball limits a lot of the experience

Android
- Relatively good browser
- High-end phones are much better than Blackberries (in terms of specifications)
- Relatively less apps than the iPhone
- Easy to get infected with malware on the market.
- Messy, awkward looking user interface (my personal opinion)
- Hard to type with touch screen
- A lot of customization options

iPhone
- Secure app store
- Expensive to buy
- Very similar to Android?