Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Something changes exe permissions to access denied

• Please log in to reply

semmel

semmel

• PipPip
  • 36 posts
Hi.
I have some experience in removing viruses that I can find, but this one has been very elusive.
I used HiJackThis first - it found nothing out of the ordinary, BUT I had to run it in Safe Mode: When I run it normally, even as Admin (Windows Vista 32bit), about the time it gets to the Services it simply quits, and I cannot run it again - I get the message from Windows that access is denied to the file.
Same with RunScanner.
Same with the installed copy of AVG 8.5 and AdAware - they had already tried to run earlier and were also inaccessible.
In the case of AVG, I was finally able to remove it and install version 2012, update it and then run it in Safe Mode - found nothing.
Ran MBAM in Safe Mode, found a few minor infections.
Tried SilentRunners, also nothing I found to be out of the ordinary.

I found your entry on what other programs to run, and I just started the VIPRE scan, and I'll run SuperAntiSpyware, too.

The files that get their permission changed can be deleted from DOS prompt using rmdir, but otherwise I can't run them. ATTRIB doesn't show anything out of the ordinary, and I am still the owner of the file, so I don't know for sure how I am being locked out of the files. AVG scan found quite a few files/folders to be "locked", including some of the files I found to be locked.