Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Cannot connect to a bunch of websites

• Please log in to reply

MikeCorruption

MikeCorruption

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
Right i have had this problem for a few weeks now and it is really confusing me, i am an IT student and have a few qualifications in the IT world so i do know my way around a computer system, first of all here are a list of the websites i cannot access, by access i mean when i enter the URL and click enter it just stops at "Waiting for "name of website"" and just times out after then, this is on EVERY computer in the house, now i have a three computers and three laptops and all have this problem with these websites.

The websites are:

Tumblr.com (to be precise any tumblr blog what so ever, i can access the main tumblr log in and log in to my account but if i attempt to go on anyones tumblr blog it wont load)
Filesonic.com
orion.com
megaupload.com
fileserve.com
rapidshare.com
wupload.com
hotfile.com

I use a bunch of these upload/download websites to store my backups of documents etc so i can use them on the move, but i really do need them personally speaking.

Here are the steps ive taken to try to resolve the problem;

Contacted my ISP (AOL) they responded with that the websites are online and my internet connection has not had any blocks or bans on for any site what so ever

Tested the websites on different web browsers from Google Chrome, IE8 and Mozilla Firefox
I have used the "ipconfig /release" "ipconfig /flushdns" "ipcofnig /renew" technique