Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

BSOD, kernel inpage error, please help! :(

• Please log in to reply

rockchick

rockchick

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi guys,
I'm not that great at computers, I know the basics and am self taught with computers if it comes to difficulties.
I've got a G62 series HP laptop with windows 7 and have had it for only about 3 months and I've already had the bsod quite a few times. It seems to happen when i watch vids on youtube or iplayers and on fullscreen..I'm thinking it has something to do with the intel HD graphics card, not too sure. It's got the lowest rating on the system performance.
When watching some vids, i can tell when its going to crash; it stutters and makes a retriggering noise, and the blue screen appears, it says 'kernel_data_inpage_error' and i think it's stop 0x0000007A. it makes a loud retriggering noise whilst on the screen then goes to a black screen with the HP logo on. I have to manually restart it when it does this. The blue screen lasts only a few seconds so i cannot write it down but it pretty much says this:

a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage
to your computer.

kernel_data_inpage_error

if this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your
computer. if this screen appears again, follow these steps:

check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
if this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufactuers
for any window updates you might need.