Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Explorer.exe n XP wont run after Internet Explorer 8 upgrade:normliz.d

• Please log in to reply

Abram

Abram

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
For economy, I've been running XP home on a Compaq pressario 2100 for about 10 years, with no memory upgrades. Malware protection is AVG.

Over the past month, memory usage increased during browsing with iexplorer 7 to the point of crashing games (fly or die go). I tried firefox 1.8, which seemed to work better at first, then it too would see increases of memory usage and slow game response.

I tried some on-line scans (eg panda) but they were taking hours due to the browser memory usage, so I gave up.

Yesterday I thought I would upgrade to explorer 8 to see if that would help. Since then on boot-up I get the message:

1)Explorer.exe: this application failed to start bcause normaliz.dll was not found. Re-instaling the application may fix the problem.

Running windows in safe mode causes the same problem, as does trying to return windows to the last known good configuration.

Attempting to run explorer.exe from the task manager gives the following message:

2)Windows Task Manager: taskmgr.exe - Unable to Locate Component. This application failed to start bcause ieutil.dll was not found. Re-instalaing the application may fix the problem.

After clicking on "OK" message 2) is repeated. Then after again clicking on "OK" then message 1) appears again.