Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

advice for my first custom build?

• Please log in to reply

NomDeKeyz

NomDeKeyz

• PipPip
  • 87 posts
Hi Geeks!
I am new to this section of the forums, as I am new to the idea that I can build a computer (with the help of my computer savvy housemate). I read the walkthru and expect it will be handy when the time comes. Thank you!

I have a list of components I expect will work together and meet my needs. Before I buy them, however, I'd like to ask if any Geeks have feedback/cautions/recommendations/advice that I should consider first? Thanks!

1. Gather all Components
Case (and any extra Case Fans) - Logisys Black and Silver ATX Case w/ side window & front USB
* Power Supply - Antec NEO 620w Extra Quiet ATX Power Supply SLI & X-fire ready
* Motherboard - ASUS M4A88T-M Onboard Video, HDMI, GB LAN
* CPU (Processor) - AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.2GHz (Quad Core) 45nm, AMD 6MB Cache
*and Heatsink/Fan - AMD Black Edition Copper HeatPipe Extra Quiet fan *OR- OCZ Vanquisher * OR- Coolermaster Hyper TX3
* RAM (Memory) - DDR3 Dual Channel memory
* Hard Drive - Western Digital WD1002FAEX Caviar Black HD 1TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6G (already paid for)
* Optical Drive (e.g. DVD Burner) -A currently owned Samsung Super Writemaster lightscribe speedplus TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S222L
* Video Card (may be integrated into Motherboard) - Onboard for now, hope to upgrade to a XFX video card in the future
* Sound Card (may be integrated into Motherboard) - Onboard
* Networking Card (may be integrated into Motherboard) - Onboard