Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Run program from Ubuntu

• Please log in to reply

fusebox

fusebox

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I have Ubuntu 11.10 installed on a boot flash drive and all appears to be successful so far. I am a complete beginner with Ubuntu (but not Windows) and I could use some advice to help me run a program, TestDisk 6.12, from the flash drive to try to recover data from a (Windows) hard drive. The setup is for this sole purpose, although if it works I am likely to become hooked on Ubuntu.

The program has been downloaded and extracted, but I don't know if this means that it has been installed. It doesn't appear anywhere other than in the folder to which it was extracted so far as I can see.

I am using an Administrator account, and my source says that TestDisk must be run with Administrator privileges. I presume this means that it must be elevated privileges and at the command line, with any necessary switches, but with the current version I am just guessing. I am familiar with it in Windows, but don't know my way around in Ubuntu. The source gives the example, which may be out of date for current versions of both program and system, that you must be root to run TestDisk (i.e. sudo testdisk-6.12/linux/testdisk/static). All right, I have substituted the correct version number for the program, this is ubuntu not linux, and the extracted folder that includes testdisk_static is a subfolder in downloads.