Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Problems Setting Up A Wireless Network

• Please log in to reply

zakfox1986

zakfox1986

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Greetings! I'm a newbie to this forum so I hope you guys and gals will be patient with me.

I recently purchased a Broadband Wireless router, this one to be exact. What I didn't realise was that this was not what I needed. I am wanting to use it for sharing files and sharing a dial up connection at home. I know, I must be crazy to buy a BROADBAND router to share a wireless connection, but it just didn't hit me that there was a difference in types of routers - I just didn't think it through. But, to my relief, someone told me I could get this to work, though.

I've tried to use the software that came with the router, but, of course, it was design to set up the router for a BROADBAND connection. So it looks like I'll have to bypass that software and just do it on my own.

I was wondering if some one could either refer me to a link that would tell me how to do this, or give me some steps on how to do this. I'm in relative sad shape compared to most of you when it comes to hardware, so I'm not really sure what other information to give you, so If I leave something out, just let me know.

Here's a few fact you might like to know:

I'm trying to network 3 computers; one laptop, 2 PC's. All running XP.