Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Sony Vaio using Windows 7 stopped connecting to Internet

• Please log in to reply

voken

voken

• Pip
  • 7 posts
My Sony Vaio all-in-one-desktop is not connecting to Internet. Its on Windows 7..I have been using this for close to 3 years and was working fine all these years, and suddenly stopped connecting to Internet starting 2 days back. I tried every option but couldn't connect. I know these is no issue with my fios router/modem as I can connect to Internet using my iPad just fine..

When I try trouble shooting, it says 'Wireless capability is turned off' !!! buit its on, so not sure what the problem is about ?

Options I tried:
a) Checked the wireless switch to make sure its ON
b) Uninstalled the drivers (LAN-Express AS IEEE 802.11g PCI) and when rebooted it installed the driver back, but still couldn't connect
c) Tried the winsock, ipv4 and ipv6 tcp/ip resets as well, but didn't help
d) When I did a ipconfig all it says is media disconnected !!

Appreciate your help on this !!

Attached Thumbnails

• sony1.jpg
  • sony2.jpg
  • sony3.jpg

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,768 posts
Hi voken and :welcome:

When I try trouble shooting, it says 'Wireless capability is turned off' !!! buit its on

What do you mean its on, your screenshot tells us it is off.
Have you checked in the BIOS that it has not somehow become disabled or the Device Manager to see if the adapter has a yellow ! or red X against it?
What else do you have connected to the PC?