Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

XP Antivirus 2012 nightmare infection/please help/can't run log [C


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Can you drag and drop to the USB drive ?

Have you tried the net from the reatogo desktop as that has most of the net drivers on it - usee the firefox that is on the desktop
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Can you drag and drop to the USB drive ?

Have you tried the net from the reatogo desktop as that has most of the net drivers on it - usee the firefox that is on the desktop


I burnt a cd, as the usb drive does no longer lights up when I plug it into the sick pc. It does light up and load on the host, so the usb drive is not bad, it is just not being recognized by the sick pc within the reatogo program.

I tried it from internet explorer. Where else can I try it from? I do not understand which icon will allow the internet.

Edited by sasba858, 18 December 2011 - 04:35 PM.

  • 0

#18
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
So IE does not connect from the reatogo desktop
Can you drag and drop the text file from OTL to the CD ?

OK lets try this

Reboot the computer without the cd as if starting normally
Then immediatelly it starts booting press and release continuosly F8
Does that bring up the safe mode menu ?

If so select safe mode with networking
Does that allow you to connect to the internet ?
  • 0

#19
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

So IE does not connect from the reatogo desktop
Can you drag and drop the text file from OTL to the CD ?

OK lets try this

Reboot the computer without the cd as if starting normally
Then immediatelly it starts booting press and release continuously F8
Does that bring up the safe mode menu ?

If so select safe mode with networking
Does that allow you to connect to the internet ?


Thanks I will try this.

Edited by sasba858, 18 December 2011 - 07:30 PM.

  • 0

#20
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
I am getting a popup that says this:

Desktop

Windows is running in safe mode.

This special diagnostic mode enables you to fix a problem which may be caused by your network or hardware setting. Make sure these settings are correct in control panel, and then try starting widows again. While in safe mode, some of your devices may not be available.

To proceed to work in safe mode click YES, If you prefer to use system restore to restore your computer click NO.



I clicked yes and got into safe mode.

Edited by sasba858, 18 December 2011 - 07:31 PM.

  • 0

#21
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

So IE does not connect from the reatogo desktop
Can you drag and drop the text file from OTL to the CD ? NO

OK lets try this

Reboot the computer without the cd as if starting normally
Then immediatelly it starts booting press and release continuosly F8
Does that bring up the safe mode menu ?

If so select safe mode with networking
Does that allow you to connect to the internet ?



So IE does not connect from the reatogo desktop
Can you drag and drop the text file from OTL to the CD ?

NO




Reboot the computer without the cd as if starting normally
Then immediatelly it starts booting press and release continuosly F8
Does that bring up the safe mode menu ?

YES





If so select safe mode with networking
Does that allow you to connect to the internet ?

NO



Do you have any other suggestions?

Edited by sasba858, 18 December 2011 - 07:32 PM.

  • 0

#22
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Yes start the computer in safe mode

Having first copied RogueKiller and OTL to the cd
Once in safe mode run RogueKiller option 2
Then run the OTL scan as set out below

  • Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.
  • Select All Users
  • Under the Custom Scan box paste this in
    netsvcs
    %SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.exe
    /md5start
    consrv.dll
    explorer.exe
    winlogon.exe
    Userinit.exe
    svchost.exe
    /md5stop
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NetBT /s
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NetBIOS /s
    C:\Windows\assembly\tmp\U\*.* /s
    %Temp%\smtmp\1\*.*
    %Temp%\smtmp\2\*.*
    %Temp%\smtmp\3\*.*
    %Temp%\smtmp\4\*.*
    CREATERESTOREPOINT
  • Click the Quick Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
  • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows. OTL.Txt and Extras.Txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
  • Post both logs


RogueKiller should have cleared the way for you to access the net
If not, and you ran OTL from the CD then that is where the logs should be saved
  • 0

#23
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Yes start the computer in safe mode

Having first copied RogueKiller and OTL to the cd
Once in safe mode run RogueKiller option 2
Then run the OTL scan as set out below

  • Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.
  • Select All Users
  • Under the Custom Scan box paste this in
    netsvcs
    %SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.exe
    /md5start
    consrv.dll
    explorer.exe
    winlogon.exe
    Userinit.exe
    svchost.exe
    /md5stop
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NetBT /s
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NetBIOS /s
    C:\Windows\assembly\tmp\U\*.* /s
    %Temp%\smtmp\1\*.*
    %Temp%\smtmp\2\*.*
    %Temp%\smtmp\3\*.*
    %Temp%\smtmp\4\*.*
    CREATERESTOREPOINT
  • Click the Quick Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
  • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows. OTL.Txt and Extras.Txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
  • Post both logs


RogueKiller should have cleared the way for you to access the net
If not, and you ran OTL from the CD then that is where the logs should be saved


I loaded both Roguekiller and OTL on a CD, but in both Safe mode & Safe mode with Networking the CD is not being recognized. Remember, I was only able to reconized the other CD with OTL on it, when I was in that boot location outside of my windows professional,
  • 0

#24
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
From the safe mode menu could you select system restore
Then restore the computer to a time before the malware struck... That should free the internet and your USB
  • 0

#25
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
The only thing I get like that is this:

Directory services restore mode (Windows domain controllers only)

or

Last know good configuration (your most recent settings that worked) I think I tried that one before.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
This is exactly what it says:

Windows advance option menu
Please select an option:

Safe mode
Safe mode with networking Safe mode with Command Prompt
Enable boot logging
Enable VGA Mode
Debugging Mode
Disable automatic restart on system failure
Start windows normally
Reboot

use the up and down arrow keys to move the highlight to your choice.

Edited by sasba858, 19 December 2011 - 02:55 PM.

  • 0

#27
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Have you tried to access the USB from within windows explorer ?


  • 0

#28
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Also to access system restore from safe mode (XP)

To start System Restore using the Command prompt, follow these steps:
1. Restart your computer, and then press and hold F8 during the initial startup to start your computer in safe mode with a Command prompt.
2. Use the arrow keys to select the Safe mode with a Command prompt option.
3. If you are prompted to select an operating system, use the arrow keys to select the appropriate operating system for your computer, and then press ENTER.
4. Log on as an administrator or with an account that has administrator credentials.
5. At the command prompt, type %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe, and then press ENTER.
6. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen to restore your computer to a functional state.
  • 0

#29
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
I will try this if the virus will allow me to do it, and let you know in a couple of minutes.
  • 0

#30
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Also to access system restore from safe mode (XP)

To start System Restore using the Command prompt, follow these steps:
1. Restart your computer, and then press and hold F8 during the initial startup to start your computer in safe mode with a Command prompt.
2. Use the arrow keys to select the Safe mode with a Command prompt option.
3. If you are prompted to select an operating system, use the arrow keys to select the appropriate operating system for your computer, and then press ENTER.
4. Log on as an administrator or with an account that has administrator credentials.
5. At the command prompt, type %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe, and then press ENTER.
6. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen to restore your computer to a functional state.


What key is used for the reverse forward slash in this: %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP