Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

XP Antivirus 2012 nightmare infection/please help/can't run log [C


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#76
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Do you have another computer that could burn a CD and enable use to install the recovery console ?
  • 0

Advertisements


#77
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
yes


Is what I need on a CD what is in this guys thread below?

quote name='Titan8990' timestamp='1218735793' post='1307075']
Alright, here is what you need to do:

Download and burn the following ISO: http://www.thecomput...om/files/rc.iso


Boot to the CD and you should be presented with a recovery console.


From the recovery console type the following command and hit enter:

chkdsk /r

Let me know if that resolves your issue or if you need further instructions on burning the ISO or booting from it.
[/quote]

Edited by sasba858, 30 January 2012 - 05:07 PM.

  • 0

#78
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Spot on that is what I was going to ask you to do

Are you happy with those instructions ?
  • 0

#79
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Spot on that is what I was going to ask you to do

Are you happy with those instructions ?


Not really.

When I load the cd in the sick laptop and I hit f12 I still do not get anything that says "recovery console".

Could you direct me on what to do?

Edited by sasba858, 30 January 2012 - 05:53 PM.

  • 0

#80
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
Okay EssexBoy, when I go "Boot to cd", the cd loads but I get the same blue screen problem message that is in my attachment, except this message does not say "Unmountable_Boot_Volume" Here is what it now reads now under the Technical information listed below.

Technical Information:

***STOP: 0xoooooo7E (0xC0000005, 0xF748E0BF, 0xF778DA208, 0xF78D9F08)

*** pci,sys - Address F748E0BF, base at F7487000, DateStamp 3b7d855c

Edited by sasba858, 31 January 2012 - 11:28 AM.

  • 0

#81
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
When you boot from the CD do you have any usb drives inserted ? If so then remove them and try again
  • 0

#82
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

When you boot from the CD do you have any usb drives inserted ? If so then remove them and try again


I am not sure what you mean by that, but nothing is inserted in any of my usb ports on my laptop.
  • 0

#83
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK lets work using a Linux based system - this should work

OK next we will work outside of windows.
Please print these instruction out so that you know what you are doing

Download FRSTto a usb DRIVE

  • Download OTLPENet.exe to your desktop
  • Ensure that you have a blank CD in the drive
  • Double click OTLPENet.exe and this will then open imgburn to burn the file to CD
  • Reboot your system using the boot CD you just created.Note : If you do not know how to set your computer to boot from CD follow the steps here
  • As the CD needs to detect your hardware and load the operating system, I would recommend a nice cup of tea whilst it loads :)
  • Your system should now display a Reatogo desktop.Note : as you are running from CD it is not exactly speedy
    .

Insert the USB drive
On the reatogo desktop double click the My Computer icon
Select the USB drive
Run FSRT
Once it completes it will save a log to the USB please post that here
  • 0

#84
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

OK lets work using a Linux based system - this should work

OK next we will work outside of windows.
Please print these instruction out so that you know what you are doing

Download FRSTto a usb DRIVE

  • Download OTLPENet.exe to your desktop
  • Ensure that you have a blank CD in the drive
  • Double click OTLPENet.exe and this will then open imgburn to burn the file to CD
  • Reboot your system using the boot CD you just created.Note : If you do not know how to set your computer to boot from CD follow the steps here
  • As the CD needs to detect your hardware and load the operating system, I would recommend a nice cup of tea whilst it loads :)
  • Your system should now display a Reatogo desktop.Note : as you are running from CD it is not exactly speedy
    .

Insert the USB drive
On the reatogo desktop double click the My Computer icon
Select the USB drive
Run FSRT
Once it completes it will save a log to the USB please post that here


I will try this and post back.

Edited by sasba858, 31 January 2012 - 03:19 PM.

  • 0

#85
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
I have tried that link to explain how to set your computer to boot from CD, but none of those pictures are like mine, so I am unable to get my sick laptop to recognize the cd. My laptop is a Vostro 1520, and the screen that shows up in my model laptop is "phoenix securecore ™ setup utility".

Edited by sasba858, 31 January 2012 - 04:04 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#86
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Press "F2" while the computer is starting to enter the BIOS setup screen.


Using the left/right arrow key select boot

Setting the boot drive sequence

By default, the computer searches for boot devices in the following order:

1.Hard disk drive 1

2.Hard disk drive 2

3.Optical disc drive

4.Network boot

5.External USB HDD

6.External USB floppy drive

7.External USB keyboard

8.External USB optical drive

To set the boot drive sequence:

1.Press up or down arrow to highlight a bootable device.

2. Press F5 or F6 to move the selected device up or down the boot sequence.

3. Press F10 to save the changes you made and close the Setup Utility.
  • 0

#87
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Press "F2" while the computer is starting to enter the BIOS setup screen.


Using the left/right arrow key select boot

Setting the boot drive sequence

By default, the computer searches for boot devices in the following order:

1.Hard disk drive 1

2.Hard disk drive 2

3.Optical disc drive

4.Network boot

5.External USB HDD

6.External USB floppy drive

7.External USB keyboard

8.External USB optical drive

To set the boot drive sequence:

1.Press up or down arrow to highlight a bootable device.

2. Press F5 or F6 to move the selected device up or down the boot sequence.

3. Press F10 to save the changes you made and close the Setup Utility.


Remember, the top option is already set at "CD/DVD/CD-RW Drive" because it was never changed from the last time we installed the other CD to fix the problem I had with the virus I had earlier in this thread.

I just don't know what to do from entering the setup utility to getting the CD read outside of windows. What do I do from here?
  • 0

#88
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
As long as the first boot device is to CD the cd will run its own version of windows
  • 0

#89
sasba858

sasba858

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

As long as the first boot device is to CD the cd will run its own version of windows


The cd is not getting recognized, as it is asking for the following message below for a floppy dish.


This is what it says:

Windows Setup


Please insert the dish labeled:

Windows Automated System Recovery Disk

into the floppy drive.


Press any key when ready.

Edited by sasba858, 01 February 2012 - 03:13 PM.

  • 0

#90
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
It sounds to me as if the hard drive has failed - This is the OTLPE disc correct ?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP