Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Dad/son bonding - first build - maybe I rushed

• Please log in to reply

Gravy4672

Gravy4672

• PipPip
  • 17 posts
I thought it would be educational/fun to try and build a computer with my 13yr old son. He is a PS3 player but plays minecraft on other computer and set up our older computer as a server for minecraft. I have little experience (replaced hard drive & video card before).

I bought a barebones system and think I may be missing some parts. lol. Can someone comment (go easy on me, lol).

I think I need a video card and fan ?? Why does the motherboard have a HDMI port if no integrated video ? We don't do any real gaming so this system is overkill I'm sure but wanted some room for future ( and it was cheap - incase I can't get it to work, lol). I was thinking of getting this video card: Geforce GT 240: http://ncix.com/prod...ac&promoid=1374

System: http://www.tigerdire...706926&CatId=31

MSI 760GM-E51 Motherboard,
AMD Phenom II X6 1035T CPU,
Corsair 8GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 RAM,
Seagate 1TB HDD,
24x DVD Writer,
DiabloTek Elite Mid Tower,
450-Watt PSU
windows 7 64 bit
keyboard/mouse: Wireless Comfort Desktop 5000 USB BlueTrack
monitor: 20" acer or 42" 720 LG TV

I hope we didn't buy parts that we will never end up getting to work. I don't give up easy though.
I read the post on getting started - very informative. Thanks.
I appreciate your time and interest. Thanks to all that post - even those that just want a laugh.

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff