Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

no windows audio, svchost error, theme disappeasring and more

• Please log in to reply

notyourmom

notyourmom

• Pip
  • 2 posts
First of all please be patient, I am new to the web and here......
no doubt somewhere along the line, someone will quietly snicker on my naivete, but I am learning fast.

I have been very particular about downloading/installing things on my new computer. I recently got it and the guys who built it were going to give me disks for it, but never did, they made me their last job before the economy closed them down.

Two weeks ago, my broadband provider came in and had me change from DHCP to PPPoe, he was uncertain of some settings (sigh).
I have no "network" at home at all, just this one PC on the net. However it now says at shutdown "closing network connections".

Ever since then, when I boot up, I have to go to Windows Audio in services.msc and physically start it. Unsure why, but some times, the Win Audio in services.msc is already on at startup, then I get the svchost error,etc.etc. "unknown dll it says", my theme jumps to classic theme for about 15 seconds--I get a rpc error, which I check and find the RPC is already on and started.

My system tray icons are constantly messed up and I have a locked RecycleBin. Have even gone to safemode as admin and tried to delete these several files in the RecycleBin, trying about 8 diff. techniques, still get the "dc21" access denied.
With this svchost error, appcompat.txt, the problem files are consistently: