Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Solid State Drive / BootMGR error

• Please log in to reply

rhymin

rhymin

• PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Hi, I am upgrading my hard drive to a Sansdisk Solid State Hard Drive 120 GB. I also have a 7200 RPM Western Digital (WD) 500 GB Hard Drive that I am currently using. I would like to install the operating system on the SSD though and use the WD 500GB for other programs. I have never used 2 Hard drives before. Last week, I just took out my WD and put those sata cables in the SSD. I didn't reformat or anything. I got an error that said BOOTMGR is missing. I am wondering the correct way to go about this so I don't get this error again, as it was difficult to overcome. I knew all I had to do was put in the Windows 7 disc and repair windows, but every time I tried that, the screen went blank and I had to restart. I finally left the PC off overnight and tried again the next morning. It worked and repaired fine. I really do not want to run into this problem again. What is the correct way to go about this without getting that BOOTMGR error? Do I need to reformat my WD hard drive first and plug both of them into SATA at the same time? I am using Windows 7 64 bit.

Advertisements

rhymin

rhymin

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Can anyone help? Thanks.

Edited by rhymin, 24 January 2012 - 10:40 AM.

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,773 posts
See if this is any help http://www.sevenforu...indows-7-a.html

rhymin

rhymin

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts