Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

New build-wont power on

• Please log in to reply

Hannah Melissa Bowles

Hannah Melissa Bowles

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Ok, so this is my first build and I'm very frustrated right now.

I put everything together according to all manuals/online guides I've read. But when I finally got it all hooked up and went to push the power button-nothing. I checked everything was plugged in properly, psu switched on, plugged in to wall, etc etc. still nothing. So, I disconnected the front panel switches and bridged the power switch pins with a screwdriver. I got power long enough for the LEDs to flash and the fans spin a few times, then it stopped. It does this every time. I tried putting a different psu in, did not help. I then replaced the mobo thinking it might be shorted, still the same thing. I also tried disconnecting everything except cpu/heatsink, graphics card, one stick of ram. still, cpu fan spins a few times then nothing. any idea what this could be? bad component or could i be doing something wrong?

specs:
LITE-ON DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model iHAS124-04 - OEM
Mushkin Enhanced Silverline 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model 996770
MSI 760GM-P23 (FX) AM3+ AMD 760G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD2500AAKX 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive