Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

New network card will not work


  • Please log in to reply

#16
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That is it? It should give you a bunch of numbers
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
dshaw42085

dshaw42085

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
It doesn't know that, apparently.
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
ok try typing this in
ipconfig /all then push enter
  • 0

#19
dshaw42085

dshaw42085

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
It says the same thing with that command as well.
  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok lets do this a different way then.
How to Flush DNS in Microsoft Windows

In Microsoft Windows, you can use the command ipconfig /flushdns to flush the DNS resolver cache.
Go to Start and then to Run
Type in cmd and click Enter
At the command prompt type the following and click Enter:

C:>ipconfig /flushdns

Note the space between the g and the /

When done you should see the following:

Windows IP Configuration
Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.
  • 0

#21
dshaw42085

dshaw42085

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
All it said is "Windows IP Configuration."
  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK then try the below.
Go to Start then to Control Panel
Click on Network Neighborhood and then click on the Network connection that shows in the new window.
On the elft of the window you should see something about Repair so click on that.
  • 0

#23
dshaw42085

dshaw42085

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
I will not be able to do this until Tuesday, when I return to work.
  • 0

#24
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK no problem.
  • 0

#25
dshaw42085

dshaw42085

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following actions cannot be completed: Failed to query TCP/IP settings of the connection. Cannot proceed.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please go back to post 20 and redo the steps except instead of the command it states please type the following two commands in the order I post and press Enter after each one.

Ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew



Let me know the results.
  • 0

#27
dshaw42085

dshaw42085

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Windows IP configuration on both commands.
  • 0

#28
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please take a look at this video HERE because it shows the steps I have mentioned. The results you are posting are not giving all the information I am looking for and this will show what you should be seeing.
  • 0

#29
dshaw42085

dshaw42085

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
I'm doing it correctly, and only getting "Windows IP configuration."
  • 0

#30
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK at this point I'm going to say it may be the new lan card you installed.
Suggestion is to take out the card. and boot the system back up. Check device manager to make sure all reference to any network adapter has been erased.
Once verified shut down the system and reinstall the card, boot up and if there was a drivers disk available load the driver with that disk first.
Let me know the results.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP