Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Infected! Can't open or download any file! HELP! [Sol


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
You can access task manager ?

Could you open it and take a screenshot of Processes and services please
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
bluehammer

bluehammer

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
I'm not sure how to add a screenshot to my reply.
Here are snippits that I saved and added as attachments.
Process screenshot.PNG
Sevices screenshot 1.PNG
Sevices screenshot 2.PNG
Sevices screenshot 3.PNG
Sevices screenshot 4.PNG
Sevices screenshot 5.PNG

Edited by bluehammer, 05 February 2012 - 11:34 AM.

  • 0

#18
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Well I can see nothing there that would stop the programmes from running

Could you right click OTL and select run as administrator please
  • 0

#19
bluehammer

bluehammer

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
Just like every other program. I am in safe mode, I run as admin and the windows orb pops up for 5 seconds, goes away and nothing happens. I renamed it and still got the same results.
Sooooo Frustated!!!!!!!!!!!

Edited by bluehammer, 05 February 2012 - 12:04 PM.

  • 0

#20
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
I am not sure whether this is malware at the moment.. So lets shut everything down bar MS services and files then download this version of OTL
Download OTL to your Desktop. If you are using Firefox then right click the link and select save as..
When you reboot with minimal services then run this

Step 1:

Start the System Configuration Utility
Click Start, click Run, type msconfig, and then click OK.
The System Configuration Utility dialog box is displayed.

Step 2:

Configure selective startup options
In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click the General tab, and then click Selective Startup.
Click to clear the Process SYSTEM.INI File check box.
Click to clear the Process WIN.INI File check box.
Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box. Verify that Load System Services and Use Original BOOT.INI are checked.
Click the Services tab.
Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
Click Disable All, and then click OK.
When you are prompted, click Restart to restart the computer.

Step 3: Log on to Windows

If you are prompted, log on to Windows.
When you receive the following message, click to select the Don't show this message or launch the System Configuration Utility when Windows start check box, and then click OK.

You have used the System Configuration Utility to make changes to the way Windows starts.
The System Configuration Utility is currently in Diagnostic or Selective Startup mode, causing this message to be displayed and the utility to run every time Windows starts.
Choose the Normal Startup mode on the General tab to start Windows normally and undo the changes you made using the System Configuration Utility.


  • 0

#21
bluehammer

bluehammer

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
I did not have a Process SYSTEM.INI File check box or a Process WIN.INI File check box that I could clear. The Use Original BOOT.INI box was already checked. It was also grayed out where I could not make any other choice. I did not receive the message in the quote box above, so i could not check that box either. Once it restarted, I tried to run the OTL from the desktop and again nothing, same as before.
If I did a system recovery, would that get rid of this problem by setting me back to original factory setup?
  • 0

#22
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Yes ti will - as without any data from your system I cannot see the problem areas

Do you know how to restore ?
  • 0

#23
bluehammer

bluehammer

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
I think I do:

Start the computer.
As the computer starts, press the F8 key until the Advanced Boot Options menu appears on the screen.
Press the (Down Arrow) to select Repair Your Computer on the Advanced Boot Options menu, and then press Enter.
Specify the language settings that you want, and then click Next.
Log in as a user who has administrative credentials, and then click OK.
Click Dell Factory Image Restore.
In the Dell Factory Image Restore window, click Next.
Click to select the check box for Yes, reformat hard drive and restore system software to factory condition.
Click Next. The computer is restored to the default factory configuration.
When the restore operation is completed, click Finish to restart the computer.


Will my computer still have all the software that was on it when I bought it after this process??
  • 0

#24
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
That is correct - it will return it to how it was the day you bought it
  • 0

#25
bluehammer

bluehammer

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
Well, my computer is finally fixed!!! Don't really know what the cause of the problem was, but the 'factory image restore' fixed it. If you do this, make sure you have the discs (or access to if downloaded from the internet) for any software that you have loaded or want to keep. Also try to save your internet favorites or bookmarks list. There is also your emails and contacts list to worry about.

Thanks Essexboy for all his help over days that we tried to fix this problem.

Edited by bluehammer, 09 February 2012 - 05:02 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Since this issue appears to be resolved ... this Topic has been closed. Glad we could help. :)

If you're the topic starter, and need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member with the address of the thread.

Everyone else please begin a New Topic.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP