Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building my new computer

• Please log in to reply

Patrick Parent

Patrick Parent

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
Hey everyone,

I have noticed the price for pre-built computers that give you limited customiztion from some of the bigger name sites and have always wanted to build one myself. After a large amount of research a decisions I am ready to go through with the purchasing of parts. What I am worried about , since I am very new to this, is the compatability and performance of all of these parts.

If you could look these over and tell me if they will be compatable or have any tips, please feel free to comment.
Case: Thermaltake Chaser MK-I ATX Mid Tower Black USB3.0

Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF Edition Motherboard - ATX, Socket H2 (LGA 1155), Intel P67 Express, 1866MHz DDR3, SATA 6.0 Gb/s, RAID, 8-Channel Audio, Gigabit LAN, SLI/CrossFireX Ready, USB 3.0

Processor: Intel Core i7-2700K Quad-Core Socket LGA1155, 3.50Ghz, 8MB L3 Cache, 32nm

RAM: Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz CL9 1.5V DIMMs

Hardrive: Western Digital Caviar Green (WD10EZRX) 1TB SATA3 6Gb/s 64MB

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W Power Supply

Video Card:Zotac (ZT-50402-10L) AMP! GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB nVidia GeForce GTX 550 Ti Chipset (1000Mhz) 1GB GDDR5 (4400Mhz) Dual Display DVI/HDMI PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card (Maybe a different one. Would love advice on this as; It will mainly be for gaming)

Thanks for any and all comments guys/girls!

Advertisements

NKGuy

NKGuy

• PipPip
  • 77 posts