Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Upgrade or new build?

• Please log in to reply

Signal5

Signal5

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hey All,

I'm a novice but looking to learn so I have some questions about my current rig I built about 2.5 years ago. Currently I am running Vista Ultimate on the following:

AMD Phenom x3 720 2.8GHz
Gigabyte 790 xt
8 Gb PC1600 RAM
1.5 TB Barracuda
Radeon 4800 HD

I don't do a ton of gaming but when I do, I like to have decent performance and settings. I'm not looking to play BF3 on Ultra and get 80 FPS but I don't want to have to turn the settings on games to low and 800x600 just to have a decent frame rate.

The video card obviously needs an upgrade but can I reasonably upgrade the CPU as well? I have found x4 and x6 processors (Deneb and Thuban) but I honestly do not know if it would be money well spent or if I should just do a new build with one of the new FX series CPUs on a new build. FWIW I checked and the Mobo claims to support the 6 core chips.

What do you guys and gals think?

P.S. Sorry if I left out any pertinent info

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Hi Signal5Posted Image

What make and model is your current PSU?

What is your budget?

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Unplug from the mains, take the case side panel off and see if you can read the info on the side of the PSU.

What make and model of case is it?

Signal5

Signal5

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts