Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Stuff running keeps freezing! (Harddrive activity?)

• Please log in to reply

WhatCrowbar

WhatCrowbar

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Allright so i just formated all my 3 harddrives and installed a fresch copy of windows 7.

The problem I'm experiencing is something that I haven't encountered before. And i have had a lot of experience with computer problems. So any running application just randomly freezes. (Games: Counter-strike, StarCraft 2 etc, normal applications: Firefox, Google chrome, explorer, winrar, utorrent.)
Yeah so anything just freezes, and when i try to close/click on the window the wheel just spins. Normally when you click something that don't respond you a message pop up saying that it does not respond and asks if you wanna close it right? or end the process. In this case it does not happen. It can stay frozen up to 15 min and after it stops everything works like a charm until next freeze. And during the freeze the HD-LED light is glowing like a candle, like my harddrive was copying shitload of stuff. But it is pretty silent though.

During the freeze i always try to bring up the task manager and end the process but sometimes the task bar freezes when i attempt to right click it, then anything i try to click just freezes.