Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

possible processor problems ?

• Please log in to reply

SKOOTERBUM

SKOOTERBUM

• PipPip
  • 52 posts
i purchased this desktop tower the other day for a backup. it's an older Gateway E-4000.

I'm still learning about how these things work. a newbie. i am mechanically inclined, and can take the system apart and clean it, then put it back together with no problems. which i just did with this PC.

when i took it apart, it was obvious it had never been cleaned before. it looked like it was used as a dryer vent. when i removed the processors heat sink fan, the heat sink was "packed full" of lint. i am assuming the processor has been over heated many times. i did not remove the heat sink from the processor.

i am using the PC right now. it does work, but it often hangs up, and it takes a very long time to bring it out of sleep mode, which are my concerns. are these symptoms / signs of the processor being damaged / going bad ??

is there a way i can test this processor ??

i do have another processor that i believe to be good, that i can swap it out with if needed.

or am i going in the wrong direction with these symptoms ??

Ron

Advertisements

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,839 posts
Hello,

What I would suggest you do is pull the heatsink off the processor and clean them up with isopropyl alcohol. Then put a fresh layer of thermal paste on and reinstall.