Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

What's the best language for creating a great UI?

• Please log in to reply

VarHyid

VarHyid

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
Hi all,

first off, yeah, I know "best" is relative, but I'm really stuck now and need to be pointed in some direction and the fact that I'm asking here is because I've failed to find the answer via Google + checking some languages out.

Here's the situation - I'm NOT a programmer. I know HTML+CSS and PHP which I can use to communicate with a MySQL database and make some "interactive" stuff this way, but obviously PHP alone doesn't really allow any truly interactive stuff and require reloading the page for most of the time (at least as far as I know), I really need to finally learn some "real" web programming language which will allow me to do what I'm planning.

To not go into details, but give you an idea what I want to do, I want a website (call it web-app?) with an interface that would NOT require reloading the page each time someone makes an input (click->save->return saved view) and that would allow dragging and dropping stuff around (press->drag->drop->save->return saved view)... oh and it should communicate with a database in the process. Now, I've been avoiding JavaScript for almost 10 years (don't ask) and I'm afraid that it just might be the best solution so could someone please tell me if that's true. Could I achieve what I just described with JavaScript or a combination of JavaScript with PHP or should I go for a different language like... idk... Perl, Python etc.