Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Realtek PCIe FE Losing Connectivity in Win 7 Home 64-bit


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Crates

Crates

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I am having an intermittent problem with my network connection dropping out for no apparent reason.

When it drops, I still see the lights blinking on the NIC card, but cannot pass packets even to the router.

Windows does not report the connection or the cable as disconnected when this problem is occurring.

The problem will persist until I disconnect and reconnect the CAT-5e wire, or disable and re-enable the NIC.

As soon as I do one of those 2 things, connectivity immediately returns (and works for another hour or so).

I am running a legitimate copy of Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit on an HP Pavilion.

All of the latest Windows updates and the latest firmware drivers are installed.

My ethernet connection is a wired Local Area Connection with a static IP address, gateway and DNS.

The IP address, gateway and DNS settings are accurate and work for several other computers here.

The Network Interface Card is a Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller (VEN_10EC / DEV_8136 / REV_05).

NIC Power Management, Energy Efficient Ethernet, and Link Down Power Saving are all turned off.

On the NIC, ARP/Large Send/IPv4,TCP,UDP Checksum/NS Offload, Flow Control, and are all on.

Receive Buffer Size on the NIC is 64Kb (512 buffers). Receive Side Scaling on. 128 Transmit Buffers.

Interrupt Moderation is turned on. Magic Packet features are turned off. Optimal Performance enabled.

NIC Speed and Duplex are set to 100mbps Full Duplex wherever possible (automatic was also tried).

802.1X authentication (EAP or PEAP) is disabled. Auto connection logic is disabled.

Connection routes through two switches into a Belkin router; other devices on same networks unaffected.

Much of my data is stored on a Network Attached Storage device, with UNC shares mapped to drive letters.

Other Windows, Mac and Linux devices connected to the same NAS device have no problems staying connected.

When the issue occurs, I can't ping the gateway, do DNS lookups or pass any packets as far as I can tell.

I have tried swapping out the CAT-5e cables for other cables and even ran them through a cable tester.
_____________________________________________________________________________

Network fixes I have attempted from the OS level so far include:

~ Switching the dynamic port range to start at 10,000 and run for approximately 54,000 ports
~ Systematically reviewing every running service to make certain that only the essential ones are on
~ Disabling all NIC stacks except Client for Microsoft Networks, IPv4, File and Printer Sharing and Comodo
~ Attempted connections with Comodo turned completely off and its NIC driver disabled
~ Attempted rolling back the RealTek driver to an earlier one from the same family and device line
_____________________________________________________________________________

Using netsh I have tried the following settings:

~ netsh winsock reset catalog
~ netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
~ netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
~ netsh int tcp set global rss=enabled
~ netsh int tcp set global chimney=automatic
~ netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled
~ netsh int tcp set global congestionprovider=ctcp
~ netsh int tcp set global ecncapability=disabled
~ netsh int tcp set global timestamps=disabled
~ netsh int tcp set global netdma=enabled
~ netsh int tcp set global dca=enabled
_____________________________________________________________________________

I have ruled out any malware, spyware, virus or trojan horse as a possibility after extensive scans with:

~ MalwareBytes Anti-malware 1.60.1.1000 (subsequently updated to latest DB)
~ Kaspersky TDSSKiller
~ Microsoft Antimalware Security Essentials
~ Avira AntiVir
~ GMER
~ RootkitRevealer
~ Sophos SAR 15 SFX
~ PrevX v3.0 CSI Free Edition

All virus definitions and malware databases were successfully updated prior to these scans.
_____________________________________________________________________________

Software I am currently running on this PC (and that have not posed a problem for me in the past) includes:

~ Privoxy
~ Polipo
~ I2P
~ Comodo Internet Security / Comodo Firewall / Comodo Dragon
~ Avira Antivir
~ Microsoft Antimalware Security Essentials
~ PeerBlock
~ uTorrent
~ Bitcoin
~ DAEMON Tools Pro
~ Tor with Vidalia
~ Steam
~ Skype
~ Pidgin
~ ooVoo
~ Pandora Desktop
~ Every Adobe Product in CS5/CS5.5
~ Microsoft Office 2010
~ mDesktop
~ Acunetix 8
~ Rainmeter
~ Prevx
~ Audacity
~ Avidemux
~ Celemony Melodyne
~ QuickBooks 2011 Pro Plus
~ Google Chrome
~ Mozilla Firefox
~ PowerISO
~ Evernote
~ Calibre
~ GoToManage Professional
~ Cisco VPN Service
~ SmartFTP Client
~ KVIrc
~ Process Explorer
~ SyncToy
~ WinDirStat
_____________________________________________________________________________

When the connection is working, an ICMP test responds normally:

Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

When the connection is not working, it responds with no joy:
Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
...
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
Packets: Sent = 57, Received = 0, Lost = 57 (100% loss),
Control-C
^C
_____________________________________________________________________________

Here's the output from an IP Config command:
C:\>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : User-HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-D9-FE-ED-FA-CE
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.130(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 91.191.136.152
62.141.58.13
85.214.73.63
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
_____________________________________________________________________________

Not that it means anything, but here's the output of a simple "nbtstat -n" command:

C:\>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.2.130] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
USER-HP <00> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
USER-HP <20> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
_____________________________________________________________________________


I will be posting this problem in several different forums in hopes that someone might be able to solve it.

Chances are, if you think this is a simple issue you've encountered before, you're not digging deep enough.

Serious responses only from people who know what they're talking about and have READ the WHOLE post, please.

Edited by rshaffer61, 23 March 2012 - 02:55 PM.
Removed TOU violation

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
risingphoenix1985

risingphoenix1985

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
Hello,

I have read through your post and have some thoughts...

Have you checked your Event Viewer for errors and warnings in the system log?

Please follow this guidance for event viewer.
  • Please download the Event Viewer Tool by Vino Rosso VEW and save it to your Desktop:
  • Double-click VEW.exe
  • Under 'Select log to query', select (as appropriate):
    • Application
    • System
  • Under 'Select type to list', select (as appropriate):
    • Error
    • Information
    • Warning
On the first run please select only ERROR and only System
I will ask for others if I need them.
If you select Error Warning and Information it will swamp us.
Then use the 'Date of events' or 'Number of events' as follows:

Either:
  • Click the radio button for 'Number of events'
    Type 3 in the 1 to 20 box (or any number from 1 to 20)
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.
  • Click the radio button for 'Date of events'
    In the From: boxes type the last reeboot date
    In the To: boxes type today's date
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.

Please post the Output log in your next reply as a copy and paste please of the opened log.

Could you see what you get using the dates <Last Reboot> <Today>?
  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

I will be posting this problem in several different forums in hopes that someone might be able to solve it.


By using 2 different Tech support sites you can run the risk of having conflicting advice given and that can lead to a system being made unusable or unstable.
If you would like help from the other site then please request from a Administrator or Moderator that this topic be closed. If you would like GTG to help then please ask for the other topic to be closed. Thank you


Chances are, if you think this is a simple issue you've encountered before, you're not digging deep enough.

That is kinda rude to state nobody has resolved this issue before

Serious responses only from people who know what they're talking about and have READ the WHOLE post, please.

We are a open forum where you may get numerous members and staff assisting. That doesn't mean you are getting substandard help but that each situation is unique and can be caused by different reasons. I'm sorry you feel this way but we are all volunteers and some are more familiar with the possible issue then others. Remember we do not charge for our help so to put unwarranted and unneeded restrictions on who helps you might be better taking it to a shop and pay the hourly tech charge to have them look at it. When dealing in a open and free forum your assistance is based on who has the time and knowledge to help you.
I'm sorry if I have offended you in any bit but your comments I have taken offense to considering the knowledge and expertise this site has in it's members and staff. One of our staff members in training has already mentioned he was going to assist you.
  • 0

#4
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts

I will be posting this problem in several different forums in hopes that someone might be able to solve it.


and a quote from your post on ONE of those other sites

I haven't rebooted in about three weeks.

If at all possible, I would like to resolve this issue WITHOUT a reboot, as that can take several hours.
(I have over 1000 suspended Google Chrome tabs & over 500 Comodo tabs; reloading them is a massive chore).


I am surprised that this is the ONLY problem you have.
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Not to mention that all the information from my Tech point is of little help for me.



Before we can help you need to provide the following so I can start you in the right direction.
Laptop or Desktop?
  • If a name brand system then what brand, make and model is the system?
  • If custom built then what brand, make and model is the motherboard
  • Total memory installed
  • Total hard drive capacity and free space
  • What steps have you taken so far to resolve the issue

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP