Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Slow XP randomly crashes with Stop error


  • Please log in to reply

#31
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
Here's VEW log..

Vino's Event Viewer v01c run on Windows XP in English
Report run at 31/03/2012 11:31:33 AM

Note: All dates below are in the format dd/mm/yyyy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'Application' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 13/03/2012 8:52:13 AM
Type: error Category: 1
Event: 4126 Source: Ci
Cleaning up corrupt content index metadata on e:\system volume information\catalog.wci. Index will be automatically restored by refiltering all documents.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 13/03/2012 8:52:13 AM
Type: error Category: 1
Event: 4124 Source: Ci
Content index on e:\system volume information\catalog.wci is corrupt. Please shutdown and restart the Indexing Service (cisvc).

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 11/03/2012 5:46:32 PM
Type: error Category: 1
Event: 4126 Source: Ci
Cleaning up corrupt content index metadata on e:\system volume information\catalog.wci. Index will be automatically restored by refiltering all documents.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'Application' Log - information Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:11:46 AM
Type: information Category: 0
Event: 1800 Source: SecurityCenter
The Windows Security Center Service has started.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:11:38 AM
Type: information Category: 1
Event: 4096 Source: Avira Antivirus
The AntiVir service has been started successfully!

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:00:56 AM
Type: information Category: 0
Event: 1800 Source: SecurityCenter
The Windows Security Center Service has started.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'Application' Log - warning Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 1:31:39 AM
Type: warning Category: 0
Event: 1517 Source: Userenv
Windows saved user GENERALSPECIFIX\Nick registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user's registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use. This is often caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 1:31:38 AM
Type: warning Category: 0
Event: 1524 Source: Userenv
Windows cannot unload your classes registry file - it is still in use by other applications or services. The file will be unloaded when it is no longer in use.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 30/03/2012 8:07:08 PM
Type: warning Category: 0
Event: 1517 Source: Userenv
Windows saved user GENERALSPECIFIX\Nick registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user's registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use. This is often caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'System' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:16:14 AM
Type: error Category: 102
Event: 1003 Source: System Error
Error code 100000d1, parameter1 00000050, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 b9951911.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:13:04 AM
Type: error Category: 102
Event: 1003 Source: System Error
Error code 100000d1, parameter1 00000050, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 b9951911.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:12:22 AM
Type: error Category: 102
Event: 1003 Source: System Error
Error code 100000d1, parameter1 00000050, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 b9951911.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'System' Log - information Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:31:28 AM
Type: information Category: 0
Event: 20158 Source: RemoteAccess
The user specifix@teksavvy.com successfully established a connection to teksavvy using the device PPPoE5-0.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:30:20 AM
Type: information Category: 0
Event: 4201 Source: Tcpip
The system detected that network adapter NVIDIA...Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport was connected to the network, and has initiated normal operation over the network adapter.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:30:17 AM
Type: information Category: 0
Event: 4201 Source: Tcpip
The system detected that network adapter NVIDIA...Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport was connected to the network, and has initiated normal operation over the network adapter.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'System' Log - warning Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:31:22 AM
Type: warning Category: 0
Event: 1007 Source: Dhcp
Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 0017314A2D27. The IP address being used is 169.254.87.86.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 10:08:46 AM
Type: warning Category: 0
Event: 1007 Source: Dhcp
Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 0017314A2D27. The IP address being used is 169.254.87.86.

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 31/03/2012 9:53:52 AM
Type: warning Category: 0
Event: 1007 Source: Dhcp
Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 0017314A2D27. The IP address being used is 169.254.87.86.
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hmm interesting. Seems to be a network issue happening.

Please Go to

1: START and the click on RUN
2: Type in devmgmt.msc
3: Click Enter


To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#33
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
Here's device manager..

Attached Thumbnails

  • DeviceMgr01.jpg

  • 0

#34
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK strange... you say you have a modem so does that mean you have dial up or dsl internet?
How long have you had the modem and is it provided by your internet service provider?
  • 0

#35
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
Yes I have a DSL modem but not supplied by my ISP.

I've been using it for at least 3 years, and it wasn't new then - it
belongs to a friend who lets me use it because my original one fails.

It's a Gnet ADSL Modem model BB0050
Has the following lights:
Power (with switch at back)
ADSL
PC
RX
TX

I did speedtest.net and I get 5.54Mbs download and about 0.43 upload.

I have setup for a memory test - bootable CD is mounted ready to go.
Do you want me to start the memtest?
/nick
  • 0

#36
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ye go ahead with memtest now.
You may have a issue with the modem then since it doesn't happen when it is either turned off or not connected.
  • 0

#37
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
I ran a memtest but only one pass - no errors

After memtest I booted with the modem on, and it came up cleanly without the WRSE msg, and no crash.

I then connected to the internet and came here.

If it's all the same to you, I'd like to defer the memtest until I can run it overnight while I sleep.

Whether the modem is on or off, I still have a slow machine - the Tetris test still fails.
And I'd like to ask if you think there's anything more we can do.
Isn't one of the NVIDIA network drivers implicated somehow.. I thought I saw that somewhere?

/nick
  • 0

#38
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

If it's all the same to you, I'd like to defer the memtest until I can run it overnight while I sleep.

no problem and better that it runs multiple tests overnight to be sure.
Yes it is but didn't you update all the drivers through Drivermax earlier?
You can run DriverMax again and see if it finds the driver out of date. :thumbsup:
  • 0

#39
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
Ran DriverMax again and he reports I'm everywhere up to date.

All our tests keep coming up clean yet there's still the occasional crash and Tetris is still slow,
so there must be something wrong somewhere.

Is there anything we can try between now and tonight's memtest?

When I installed XP last time (about 3 weeks ago or so) might I have specified some settings improperly,
and is there any way to check that sort of thing?

/nick
  • 0

#40
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
First this tetris test you are running is it a diagnostic program or a game?
If this is a game is it a flash, java or shockwave based game?
If this is a diagnostic program can you send me a link to the test please?
If you used the default settings when installing XP then you could not have done anything wrong.
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
My apologies..
I just assumed you were familiar with the game of Tetris.
It's very old, distributed on 3.5" floppy, around the early 90s or even earlier.
Microsoft included it on their WEP, Windows Entertainment Pack along with several other games.
It won't depend on Flash or any kind of Java or shockwave. It's a simple minded game probably coded in C.

I've attached a zip file containing the exe and required files - there's no setup - just copy to disk and run it.

As you'll see if you play it, the falling pieces react to arrow-key keystrokes, and the reaction is instant.
Try it and you'll see what I mean.
On my machine, up until I reinstalled XP, the pieces reacted instantly, but now they pause momentarily (about 1/4 second) then react.
I play the game at level 8 with 5 rows (an advanced setup) so there's precious little time to orient the falling piece to fit other pieces.
(You'll understand if you play with it a bit, I sure.)

/nick

Attached Files


  • 0

#42
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
HMM OK do other games work with no problem?
  • 0

#43
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
I remember Solitaire has a very rapid and flashy cascade of cards whenever you win,
so just now I played it until I won, at which point the cascade sped along just as fast as it ever has -
so it showed there is absolutely no evidence of slow performance there - which leaves me perplexed.

Why is Tetris slow but not Solitaire??

You asked a very revealing question.. good one!
I don't know what to think now - it's puzzling.
Is there an internal speed diagnostic tool of some kind - a non hd-i/o benchmark speed test?

I must admit that the overall behavior of my system is noticeably quicker since we defragged and updated the drivers,
so the performance thing is somehow just local to Tetris - but how is that possible? As I say, I play it at advanced
settings where my reaction time is the limiting factor but now Tetris reaction is the limiting factor, and makes the game unplayable.
I'm not imagining things. Something is wrong somewhere - no question - but what?

/nick
  • 0

#44
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Just a thought but what about installing Tetris again in another folder and start the game fresh on the new installation? If it works good then we can summarize there may be something wrong with the original installation. Don't uninstall the original installation but just install it into a new folder so you have two copies of the game installed.
  • 0

#45
NickKeenan

NickKeenan

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
I did that very thing - I copied the files it needs to run to a temp folder
and ran it from there. It behaved with pauses as before.
My reason for doing this was to insure that what I zipped up and sent you would work.

/nick
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP