Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Can't connect to the internet

• Please log in to reply

aaaa44

aaaa44

• PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
My landlord has wifi for all the apartment units. I just installed a new motherboard and memory in my computer myself and got the computer running fine, but I can't figure out how to connect to the internet. There is an icon in the system tray that says "Local area connection 2. A network cable is unplugged". I have never used wifi before. I was using DSL before now. The antennae is marked "Trendnet TEW-645UB", and I have it plugged into its base and the usb plug connected firmly to my pc and have tried different usb ports. When I started up my pc for the first time after installing the new hardware I got messages from I believe my Comodo firewall warning that "Realtek.exe" or something like that was trying to install programs. Since Realtek is not the name on the wifi antennae I chose to not allow the programs to install. I turned off Avast, Comodo, and the Windows security and tried to connect to the internet to see if they were blocking something, but I still couldn't get on the internet. When I go into control panel there are several Realtek program icons shown. I have XP Home on my computer and use Avast scanner version 5.0.462 and Comodo firewall version 3.13.121240.574. I'm sure these are outdated because my computer has been in storage for a long time. Sorry about the probable misuse of nomenclature, but like I said this is the first time I'm dealing with wifi. Thanks for any replies.