Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Firewall

• Please log in to reply

Lumen

Lumen

• PipPip
  • 17 posts
Hi again :) As you know i am a completely newbie and i am beginnning to explore more about computers...so i am sorry if my questions sound really stupid.
So today i decided to explore my firewall settings. I read some articles on windows microsoft..but i still don't get the advanced proporties. Can someone explain me their use and when should i use them? I also read someone that they are types of firewalls and that you can install your own. What are these types and is it better to install another or windows firewall is ok?

Advertisements

Fenor

Fenor

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 5,236 posts
The advanced options normally don't need to be used in most cases, but sometimes they need to be used to open ports to allow programs to work correctly, like the download utilities for game clients like Blizzard's World of Warcraft, NCSoft's Aion, etc. You will know when you need to use this, as the user manual and/or technical support site for the program/game you are trying to run will stipulate that you need to open those ports in the firewall.

You may also need to allow game executable (exe) files access to the network if you don't receive a popup warning asking you if you want to allow it to be able to access the network. Again, you will know if this is needed by the user manual/technical support site for the program/game you are trying to run.