Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC Biuld with £1000 cap.

• Please log in to reply

Ape-x

Ape-x

• PipPip
  • 53 posts
Ok so I'm a total noob when it come to PC building, and to be frank I am finding the the experience rather overwhelming, so I thought I'd call on the advice of some seasoned professionals. ;)

I am aiming for a PC build that would be primarily for music making. This involves using a lot of sequencer software which is a big CPU drain, and also some hardware equipment such as an external sound/audio interface professional speakers (which use XLR or TRS cables) and other general hardware that uses USB 2.0.

I would also like to use it for PC gaming (such as BF3, Skyrim etc) on high settings, although this isn't my main priority it would be nice to have.

Here is a list of stuff that I have put together, but I don't really know whether they are compatible, and would be best for what I want to use it for:

Part list permalink: http://pcpartpicker.com/uk/p/7dfA

• CPU: Intel Core i5-2400 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor
  • Motherboard: Asus P8Z68-V LE ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
  • Memory: Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
  • Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
  • Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB Video Card
  • Case: Fractal Design DEFINE R3 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case
  • Power Supply: XFX 550W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply
  • Monitor: Asus VE228H 21.5" Monitor
  • Monitor: Asus VE228H 21.5" Monitor
  • Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit)