Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First PC Build - Help and Advice

• Please log in to reply

natethegr8

natethegr8

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hey, noob here.
I am essentially doing my first pc build and, after extensive research, I have parts picked out. My target budget was under $600.
The parts are as follows:

MB - BIOSTAR TZ77B LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS $99.99

CPU - :Intel Core i5-3550 Processor (Ivy Bridge)- Quad Core, 6MB L3 Cache, 3.30GHz (3.70GHz Max Turbo), Socket H2 (LGA1155), 77W, Fan, $209.99

::Corsair CWCH60‎ ‏Hydro Series H60 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler - Socket LGA775, LGA1155, LGA1156, LGA1366, Core i5, Core i7(5.5  lbs) $59.99

RAM - C13-5720  ::Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B Vengeance Desktop Memory Kit - 8GB (2x 4GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, 9-9-9-24 CAS Latency, Intel XMP Ready, Unbuffered(0.3  lbs) $46.99

‎(No ‏Video Card for now, will be using integrated Ivy Bridge graphics)

HD (actually SSD) OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) $69.99

Case - Corsair 300R $69.99

PSU - ULT-LSP450  ::Ultra LSP450 450-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, 135mm Fan, Lifetime Warranty w/ Registration(4.45  lbs) $39.99

Any suggestions regarding better configurations and or cheaper parts, etc. are greatly appreciated!!

Thanks to all

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Gday natethegr8,Posted Image