Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

errors 04004d401, 0xc004d401, 641, 0004ed7a


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#31
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
click on mine above and it will get bigger so its readable...
how to is first get the updates on the screen...then press ctrl and the print screen key at the same time...now open paint...you can just type paint in the search box and select it from the results above...left click in the white area then press ctrl + v and the image will be inserted there...then click on save as...click on jpeg...name it updates...then click save...
then come back here and click on full editor button below the area you use to type your reply
then click on the browse button...click on the pic...then click on attach this file...
then click on reply and it should be just like mine

Attached Thumbnails

  • attach screenshots.jpg

  • 0

Advertisements


#32
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
updates1.jpg
  • 0

#33
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
updates2.jpg
updates3.jpg
updates4.jpg
updates5.jpg
updates6.jpg
  • 0

#34
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Thanks for the quick lesson.

updates7.jpg
updates8.jpg
  • 0

#35
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts


That is one of the hotfixes I tried from windows. It was one of 3 stand alones I tried to install manually. I'm tring to install it again but it keeps freezing up halfway through install.

can you boot into safe mode and try again...
one other thing...I couldn't see if SP1 was installed or did I miss it...
  • 0

#36
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Sp1 was already a part of the install package when I had to do a recover or at least that's what is says.

sp1 update.jpg

I'll try to do the safe mode boot/install now.
  • 0

#37
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
No go in safe. "installer encountered an error 0x8007043c this service can not be started in safe mode" It did run a windows memory tool automaticly on reboot. No errors found. Prior to starting safe mode i rebooted and got an error again about unauthorized change to windows resulting in limited windows functionality code 0xc004d401.

Edited by 2nd Raider, 28 May 2012 - 04:29 PM.

  • 0

#38
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
I have a way to get around the installer not working in safe mode for xp...it may also work in vista and 7 but I don't have the time to check it out...
so lets try this...go here and get Microsoft...Microsoft .NET Framework 4 (Standalone Installer)

if that doesn't help go here and get Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 Service Pack 1...try installing it over your existing version...then the patch again...
  • 0

#39
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
net 4.jpg
  • 0

#40
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
it may just be the installer thats corrupt

get Windows Installer 4.5 here and install it then try the installs again
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
I wasn't able to get 4.5 to install.
Untitled.jpg


I got sp2 to install.

Edited by 2nd Raider, 28 May 2012 - 09:24 PM.

  • 0

#42
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
thats strange...are you having any other issue with your computer...if not just run it until next month and the on the second tuesday of next month any new hotfixes will try to install...lets see how that goes
  • 0

#43
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
The biggest problem I have right now is not being able to install my ZUNE program. I think it has something to do with windows verification or something to that effect unless I somehow still have remnants of the original vista on my hard drive causing a conflict maybe??? Or malware ??

Edited by 2nd Raider, 29 May 2012 - 03:40 PM.

  • 0

#44
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
the How to remove and then reinstall the Zune software is here...the have both fix it for me and the manual method
  • 0

#45
2nd Raider

2nd Raider

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Problem solved. Upgraded to win7. Thanks Rock.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP