Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

upgrade from 7 home premuim to ultimate - keeping settings?

• Please log in to reply

mrq201

mrq201

• PipPipPip
  • 252 posts
if I were to upgrade from home premuim to ultimate, would I be able to keep my settings, files, programs and applications in tact?
I have never done an upgrade like this before. I normally do a clean install or clean upgrade, so I wanted to know what will happen if I simply upgrade.

Advertisements

happyrock

happyrock

Tech Moderator

• Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
With Windows Anytime Upgrade, you can upgrade to a more advanced edition of Windows 7 in as little as 10 minutes. That way, you get to take advantage of extra features while keeping your current programs, files, and settings intact.

http://www.microsoft...uctID.216649800

mrq201

mrq201

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 252 posts
thing is, i have windows on a flash drive...will the anytime upgrade still work??

happyrock

happyrock

Tech Moderator

• Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

i have windows on a flash drive

are you booting from the flash drive

mrq201

mrq201

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 252 posts
Yes I am... I have all the versions on the flash drive... My main concern is re-installing all my programs and my applications

happyrock

happyrock

Tech Moderator

• Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
launch windows 7 then
Type Update in search box in start menu and press enter...Click on windows update...
Click on View update history in the left pane...get a screenshot of the results and post it back here