Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building a Photo editing monster- need help!

• Please log in to reply

walterwalrus

walterwalrus

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hey Guys!

I am building a photo editing computer, used for heavy editing( I am a professional Wedding photographer). I am upgrading from a previous build,
And would love to get your feedback and tips.

I need it to be fast, and have many slots for hard drives+ usb3 connection for card reader and more drives(I go through many HDD's quickly for backup and redundancy reasons)

anyway, I'm lookin at getting the Coolermaster HAF 932 as the case,
a Gigabyte GA-X79-UD5 Mobo

Since this Rig is for my job, I'm looking for it to be "future proof" for at least a few years.

I'm looking at getting this proccessor Intel Core i7-3930K but wonder if there is merit in getting the more advanced 3960.(I use Lightroom and photoshop heavily)

What kind of PSU do I need? any recomendations regarding graphics card, memory or the build in general?

I would like to get high end stuff, so right now im open to any(logical) budget.

I have a monitor, mouse, HDD's, one Vertex 128 SSD and high end cooling fan for the processor- so I don't need any of that.

Thanks so much for your help!
Walter

CURIOSITY .jpg

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Hi Walter. Posted Image

Is your software part of a package as here, > http://www.adobe.com...ying-guide.html?
About what percentage of your work would be video? Can you list the codecs for stills and video.