Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Trojan (sirefef, zaccess), System restore error 0x800423F3, Desktop ic

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

chromejael

chromejael

• PipPip
  • 74 posts
Hi, I will try and simplify the details as best as possible.

- 10 days ago -

My Windows Vista had a sudden influx of Trojans coming in, because my Trend Micro Antivirus was popping-off alerts like mad. I was currently surfing harmless sites, like Imageshack, and a few forums I've been visiting daily for 3 years with no problems.

I then realized my Trend Micro firewall had been turned off. Attempted to manually turn on firewall, but it refused to activate.

- Solution -

I physically unplugged my ethernet cable, and manually turned off the wireless/bluetooth (My HP laptop has a physical wireless switch on the front panel) to prevent anymore unwanted intrusions by the viruses/Trojans. Then I ran a complete virus scan, 1st with "Trend Micro Internet Security Pro", followed by "Malwarebytes Anti-Malware" (I have both softwares installed in my PC, scans were not run simultaneously, Trend Micro 1st, then Malwarebytes). Both softwares had each manage to detect/quarantine/delete a few Trojans. I then attempted to re-activate my Trend Micro Firewall, but still unable to activate.

I plugged the ethernet cable back in to search for a solution to my firewall before I did anything else. I managed to restore my Trend Micro firewall after using the solution provided in this article - http://www.hageltech...e-problems.html .