Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

New PC builder help

• Please log in to reply

geicojacob

geicojacob

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello! First off I suppose I should state that I'm VERY new to computers. Well, I play games pretty hardcore, but I'm now just getting into the tech stuff, and it's quite interesting. As of now I have a laptop, it simply isn't cutting it. So, I thought I'd build a PC. I have essentially no knowledge on what is good or bad to have though, so I asked a friend. He basically complied this list of materials and I have no idea if they are good or bad. My "gut feeling" is telling my that something is off. But since I know almost nothing, I don't know for sure. But I THINK the power supply that comes with this case does not have enough wattage/power. So basically, I'm asking for people to check this list and make sure it is compatible and that it will run. Possibly tell me some upgrades if they are cheap as I want to stay in the $800 or less range. One more thing...My friend offered to build my computer for me for $70. Should I do that or not? He says he has professional equipment, which I don't have. He also says it's quite difficult to do. Which is contradicting all of the guides I have seen online. So, should I risk it and do it myself+have fun or have a "pro" do it? Anyways...Here is the list of stuff. Thanks in advance :D

http://secure.newegg...Number=27577028

PS: Sorry for the chunk of text.