Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First build - Advice please

• Please log in to reply

Funinak

Funinak

• Pip
  • 8 posts
So this is my first build, as noted my the title, and will primarily be used for gaming. No real budget, but I still want it to be somewhat practical, not too over-the-top. Haven't bought anything yet, would like any suggestions for the build.

Case: CM Storm Trooper
MB: ASRock Z77 Extreme9
CPU: Intel i7-3770k
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100
PSU: Corsair AX1200
GPU: XFX Double D HD 7970 Black Edition
HD: Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 512 GB
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB
Optical Drive: ASUS DVD Burner
Extra Case Fans: Cooler Master SickleFlow

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,716 posts
:welcome: Funinak

The details below are guidance and not criticisms but your build is rather over the top for gaming, you could significantly reduce the cost but still have an awesome gaming rig, some pointers for you to consider;

The i5 3570k Ivy Bridge will more than suit your needs and far less expensive http://www.microcent...duct_id=0388577

Your aftermarket cooler, a very important thing I must make you aware of is that you do not need the additional heatsink and CPU fan and if you did use it you would void your CPU warranty, Intel are clear on this, see below;