Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

.NET framework 3.5 causing laptop nightmare :(

• Please log in to reply

wickedpixie

wickedpixie

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
Hi!
Apologies if I'm posting in the wrong forum but I'm new, I'm a computer novice, it's late and my laptop is scrambling my brain :confused:

A couple of weeks ago my ASUS F5 laptop (running windows Vista Home Premium SP2) started playing up. The screen would freeze and the laptop stopped responding, the only way to go was hitting the rest button (ctrl Alt Del doesnt work). This began happening more frequently as the days went on. I found it was usually when I was accessing the internet or had more than 1 program running at a time. Opening Firefox and Thunderbird together was a recipe for disaster, anything with flash or multiple images was a definite no go. I checked windows task manager and noticed that my physical memory (usually at about 40%) was running at 95-100% immediately before the freezing.

I used the windows memory checker to make sure my memory was ok, all is fine apparently. I've got 2GB RAM and a partitioned hard drive with 106GB free on the D Drive and 78/116GB free on the C drive. I've dismantled the laptop and given it a blinking good clean so it's not overheating. I've tried using different browsers; makes no difference, I just get "not responding" every 5 minutes and a complete freeze randomly, besides of which the actual windows bits are lagging like crazy too (5 minutes to open the start menu?)