Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Will only start from boot menu [Solved]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,017 posts

*edit* 100% now, still making the noise & CMD window still open.........when d i restart or will Windows Repair do that?


If you ticked to restart it should do it itself. If not or if it gets completely stuck you may need to restart it yourself.

It's 2.30AM here, should i leave this overnight?


Time to call it quits I think. Catch you tomorrow. :)
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
750steve

750steve

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
Well im still here! Restarted & booted from the drive again.

The bar along the bottom of the screen has went old skool! lol........& some other bits too.

Im currently at he last stage of running the fixes of the items you said to check
  • 0

#18
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,017 posts
Could take a while for us to finish so you might like to do this tomorrow.

Restarted & booted from the drive again.


Run Farbars Service Scanner again and post log back here.
  • 0

#19
750steve

750steve

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
Ok, boxes checked as before

Farbar Service Scanner Version: 07-10-2012
Ran by Stevie (administrator) on 19-10-2012 at 07:40:03
Running from "C:\Users\Stevie\Desktop"
Microsoft® Windows 7 Eternity™ 2009 (X64)
Boot Mode: Normal
****************************************************************

Internet Services:
============

Connection Status:
==============
Localhost is accessible.
LAN connected.
Google IP is accessible.
Google.com is accessible.
Yahoo IP is accessible.
Yahoo.com is accessible.


Windows Firewall:
=============

Firewall Disabled Policy:
==================


System Restore:
============

System Restore Disabled Policy:
========================


Action Center:
============

Windows Update:
============

Windows Autoupdate Disabled Policy:
============================


Other Services:
==============


File Check:
========
C:\Windows\System32\nsisvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\nsiproxy.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\dhcpcore.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\afd.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tdx.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\tcpip.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\dnsrslvr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\mpssvc.dll
[2009-07-14 01:09] - [2009-07-14 02:41] - 0824832 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) AECAB449567D1846DAD63ECE49E893E3

C:\Windows\System32\bfe.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mpsdrv.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\SDRSVC.dll
[2009-07-14 00:36] - [2009-07-14 02:41] - 0170496 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) 765A27C3279CE11D14CB9E4F5869FCA5

C:\Windows\System32\vssvc.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wscsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wbem\WMIsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wuaueng.dll
[2009-07-14 01:36] - [2009-07-14 02:41] - 2418176 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) 38340204A2D0228F1E87740FC5E554A7

C:\Windows\System32\qmgr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\es.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\cryptsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\rpcss.dll => MD5 is legit


**** End of log ****
  • 0

#20
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,017 posts
Well that looks okay.

Are you still having problems booting?
  • 0

#21
750steve

750steve

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
I'll have to check when I get home, en route to work rite now
  • 0

#22
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,017 posts
:thumbsup:
  • 0

#23
750steve

750steve

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
Well thats a coincodence! I'm just home & logged back on.

Still having to boot from the start menu. When my 'Dell' screen appears on startup then disappears the 4 little moving lights that come together to make the windows symbol never appear

The task bar (?) along the bottom is looking weird as is my drop down box where i store my fav websites...........i'll get some screenshots
  • 0

#24
750steve

750steve

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
Posted Image

Posted Image


& more worringly this little bugger appeared! A few years back i listened to a 'knowledgable Friend' (not) who pointed me in the direction of this windows version.......i so wish i hadn't listened now!.......but i don't know much about this stuff
I have WAY too much important stuff on my desktop to consider installing a 'proper' copy...........unless there is some way to do it without losing info?, but i guess thats for another thread!

Posted Image

Edited by 750steve, 19 October 2012 - 12:28 PM.

  • 0

#25
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,017 posts
Hello again 750steve,

I am sorry to tell you this but your machine does not have a genuine Microsoft OS.

This is something you will have to take up with Microsoft.

If you believe it should be genuine then check out this link which discusses the same problem. Note the instruction "Click Start and in the Run box type slui.exe 4 (note the space... it should be there), Enter. Select an activation centre near you, call, speak with a real person and explain what happened".

Unfortunately I cannot help you until your machine is validated.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
750steve

750steve

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
Oh bugger!!

Well thank you for what you have done
  • 0

#27
750steve

750steve

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
Can i get this to go genuine without losing info, i take it my windows is a bad one??
  • 0

#28
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,017 posts

Can i get this to go genuine without losing info,


I would attempt to back up my data if I were you. Perhaps copy it to a removable harddrive if you are able.

The question of getting it genuine needs to be discussed with Microsoft.

Well thank you for what you have done


Your welcome.
  • 0

#29
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,017 posts
Since this issue appears to be resolved ... this Topic has been closed. Glad we could help. :)

If you're the topic starter, and need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member with the address of the thread.

Everyone else please begin a New Topic.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP