Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Home network problem

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

JButler

JButler

• Pip
  • 6 posts
I'm new to this so please bear with me.

I've just purchased a laptop and have been attempting to hook it up to my desktop via a simple home network. The laptop and desktop are connected together by a firewire cable, and the desktop hooks up to the net by cable modem.

Now here's the problem - while the network itself seems to work fine and I can move fies between machines with no problems, the laptop just cannot see the internet. I see that several others have had similar problems recently but none of the resulting threads seem to have any advive specific to my situation.

Here are what I hope are the relevant points:
1. Both machines are running XP Home
2. Internet Connection Sharing is enabled on the desktop.
2. The desktop's "Internet connections" dialog box shows two connections:
(a) Internet connection via cablemodem: connected, shared. IP address is obtained automatically
(b) Firewire connection to laptop: connected. IP address is 192.168.0.1
3. The laptop's "internet connections" dialog box shows:
(a) Internet Gateway, internet connection via cablemodem on desktop, connected.
(b) LAN: (i)local area network (standard ethernet connector) disabled
(ii) Wireless network connection, not connected
(iii) firewire connection to desktop, connected. IP address obtained automatically.
4. Both machines' internet firewalls are off though they are both running Zone Alarm.