Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

cpanel server connection

• Please log in to reply

dok300

dok300

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi guys

i am new to web development and am trying to get my site online.

I have created my site in dreamweaver and am trying to upload my files to cpanel.

However, i cannot connect to the server, despite the fact that the port is correct, logins are correct and domain name is correct.

It keeps saying "cannot connect to host". I have tried bitkinex and filezilla as alternative ftp clients and neither can connect, and the webdisc wont work with windows 7 for easy file upload.

Any ideas, or alternative suggestions to upload the files?? Really don't want to have to do it manually, file by file.

Help much appreciated.

Advertisements

Johanna

Johanna

The Leather Lady

• 3,038 posts
Any reason you are uploading files to cPanel instead of using the file transfer client to load the files to the public_html folder on the server? If you can't connect to the host, something is wrong, and you won't be able to transfer any files.
Johanna

AstraNut

AstraNut

• PipPipPip
  • 465 posts