Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

PC Keeps Rebooting Itself Randomly

• Please log in to reply

writertiff

writertiff

• PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
I work from home and my PC is the key to my livelihood.

Yesterday my PC started randomly rebooting itself. I'm using Google Chrome and all of a sudden it will just restart in the middle of me working or surfing for research.

I'm not very tech savvy so you'll need to walk me through whatever I need to do. I know I have Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005.

Please help :(

Thanks!
Tiff

Advertisements

writertiff

writertiff

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
More info if it helps anyone know how to help me here. I found online where it said you could disable the automatic restart to find out what was going wrong. So I went to Control Panel, System Properties - Advanced - Start up and Recovery and unchecked automatically restart from system failure. I then saved and exited.

The computer worked fine for a day.

Then this morning it suddenly gave me a blue screen and said something about Windows shutting down to prevent damage. It said to check to be sure I have adequate disk space, check the driver updates if a driver is identified in the Stop message.

Well here was the stop message:

Stop oxoooooo8e (oxc0000005, oxbf848897, oxaf825ae4, oxoooooooo)
Win 32k.sys address bf848897 base at bf8000000 data setup 508505c1

Does this help?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Ztruker

Ztruker