Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer wont boot - "Media Test Failure: Check Cable" error m

• Please log in to reply

uduran10

uduran10

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi I'm new to this but I wanted to get some feedback on a problem I am having. Recently I traveled abroad and took my laptop for the first time. Before traveling my laptop was working perfectly. Now however, when I turn it on, it sometimes boots perfectly without any issues. However, sometimes it gives me an error message of "Media Test Failure - Check Cable" and says something like "hard disk not installed." Recently I figured out a way in which I can properly boot after receiving this error message. I restart the computer and go to BIOS settings and pretend to change the language (basically just reclicking English and saving and exiting). After I do this, my laptop boots correctly. I was talking to some people and they say my hard drive is failing and needs to be replaced or that it might be my motherboard. Any thoughts on what it is?

Since I traveled with it for the first time and it passed through the security scanners...im guessing that is what messed it up, but am not sure. Supposedly the airport scanners shouldn't affect laptops and that's what I thought until this happened.

Edited by uduran10, 14 January 2013 - 10:22 PM.

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,780 posts
:welcome: uduran10

To help with research can you let us know the brand and model name or number of the notebook please.