Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

hp pavilion a320n xp home sp3 won't boot in normal mode. Boots in

• Please log in to reply

wharriss

wharriss

• PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
Hello everybody:

I am new to this forum and not very experienced in computers, but have worked hard to solve this problem by myself by googling, etc, and have been defeated. All help will be greatly appreciated.

HP Pavilion a320n Windows Home xp AMD Athlon 2.08 GHz I have been running the latest Norton 360 antivirus for 2 years. I did allow a symantec technician from an Asian country to control my computer in November through Rescue Me login for a problem with a compatibility issue between Firefox and Norton Identity Safe.

When trying to boot in normal the boot process appears normal up to the blue screen with the windows logo and the bars moving across for maybe 30 seconds and then the bars stop and the screen goes completely black. (no cursor or anything) The power button won't shut the pc down I have to unplug the power source to shut down.

I can use F8 to boot in the safe mode and connect to the internet and use my Firefox browser.