Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

new build desk top

• Please log in to reply

alan2246

alan2246

• Pip
  • 9 posts
i am building a desktop have coolmaster 272 case, a gigabyte 970a-d3 motherboard amd fx6100 6core processor alpine 750watt power supply and 32gb corsair xms3 memory when try to start fans etc start for 2 sec then nothing can any body help this is my first build

Edited by alan2246, 16 January 2013 - 02:56 AM.

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Hi alan2246, Posted Image
First check that you have two power cable attached to the Mobo. The 20/4 pin main cable, (powers the Mobo) The ATX 12 volt 4 pin or the EPS 12 volt 8 pin cable, (power for the CPU) usually plugs in above and to the left of the CPU. Check you have the cooler fan cable plugged into the CPU fan header on the Mobo, not a system fan header.

Do you have a video card installed?

alan2246

alan2246

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
hi i dont have a video card the 12volt connector is 8 pin my power supply is only 4 pin

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Hi.
Please check you have given the correct Motherboard model.

From Post #1.
a gigabyte 970a-d3 motherboard

For that model, specifications, > http://www.gigabyte....spx?pid=4395#ov Non of the revisions have a video output.. How are you connecting to the monitor?

Needs sorting so we do not give you the wrong advise.

alan2246

alan2246

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
sorry i have a radeon h d 6570

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff