Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

unable to restore to factory settings

• Please log in to reply

beccaboo

beccaboo

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I am looking to restore a HP laptop (that was given to me without any software) to factory settings. Have read and tried previous post to no avail. I am able to get to system restore but when I try, it says that computer must be plugged in to run. The computer is plugged in. I know this may seem like a stupid question to some but I am new to computers. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
System Restore does not restore the computer to it's factory new state. For that you need a recovery partition on the hard drive or a XP installation CD or manufacturers recovery CD.

You can't order XP recovery CDs from the manufacturer any more but you can get them from places like restoredisks.com. I've purchased a few from them and had no problems. Cost was $29 for the ones I got.

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
IF the recovery partition is there you might try this.

Press the power button to start the HP. Press and hold the F11 key to launch the HP Recovery Manager from the recovery partition.

Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Useful but may I point out that the last post before yours was 17 Jan.

I think beccaboo is possibly not going to reply.

However welcome to Geeks to Go, I only point it out to you to save your time and effort.

beccaboo

beccaboo

• Topic Starter
  • Pip