Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Blue Screen/Java Trojans [Solved]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
I think I just use the built in sound card on this PC. I haven't downloaded any drivers except the one that I am linking you to. The one that works with a multimedia keyboard.

http://img191.images...94/59664004.png

On the page where you download the multimedia keyboard i am clicking Intellitype 8.2 32 bit for windows XP USB. I'm pretty sure that is the right one because I saved this particular page in my documents I save because It worked for me.

Edited by Jenna91, 28 January 2013 - 02:54 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
http://img835.images...33/47900107.png

http://img20.imagesh...38/51955261.png
  • 0

#18
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Download the dell soundmax driver from here and install, after rebooting try the sound again
  • 0

#19
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
I downloaded the file and ran it.
It gave me this:
http://img42.imagesh...74/74290912.png
So I went to add/remove programs and took the old one off. Then I installed the new one from the download. Then I rebooted.
It did not change the sound and I still get this:
http://img6.imagesha...64/60816258.png
:upset: :blink:


By the way, if you happen to have windows live messenger, I can add you and we can do remote assistance.
  • 0

#20
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
I need to check this one out, do you have in control panel a soundcard short cut ?

I have one called Realtek
[attachment=62771:Capture.JPG]
  • 0

#21
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
http://img818.images...91/54760944.png

I think mine uses SoundMax maybe? When I click on it, this is all it gives me. I try rick click and regular double click.

http://img203.images...59/64825299.png

Edited by Jenna91, 28 January 2013 - 04:37 PM.

  • 0

#22
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
That's the one, and enable was already ticked ?

You are getting sound though and it is just the volume control missing
  • 0

#23
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
You are correct. After I ran the program, it fixed safe mode but the little microphone dissapeared in the bottom right corner. The multimedia controls with the keyboard also stopped working.

It's probably all related to the same issue. One of the things I tried was getting a friend to send me "sndvol32" file. I read that it could be damaged...which was causing the problem, but the new one didn't help.

Sorry for being such a pain. This wasn't the original issue. You don't have to worry about it if you don't have the time. I am happy that safe mode got fixed, I think that was more important. ;)

Edit:
I also tried to add the microphone icon by right clicking on bottom bar (down by the start button) and going to properties. It is no where on the list to be seen. I also tried to add it through control panel... that's when it gives me that error message. I feel like if I fix the microphone thing being gone, it will also probably fix the multimedia keyboard buttons.

Edited by Jenna91, 29 January 2013 - 08:35 AM.

  • 0

#24
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK lets see if we can repair the icon whilst I hunt for the keyboard problem

1.Click Start, and then click Run.
2.Copy and paste or type the following command in the Open box, and then click OK:

mmsys.cpl

3.Click to select the Place volume icon in the taskbar check box.
4.Click OK.

If the Volume icon is displayed in the notification area of your computer, you are finished. If you cannot add the Volume icon or if you receive an error message when you try to add it, let me know.
  • 0

#25
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
http://img805.images...99/45695729.png
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Bear with me I am just going to flash up my XP
  • 0

#27
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
It's okay. One of the things I was thinking about was the program I used. On the screen I clicked "Set Windows services to default startup". I think that maybe was what did it, but i'm not sure.

If you have a general idea what files that program would change maybe that is a clue to understanding what would be causing that.
  • 0

#28
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
I got the sound in the bottom taskbar. My friend sent me "sndvol32" and I followed these instructions:

http://answers.micro...d6-deaa633ccb77

The post toward the bottom by "A. User". I put Sndvol32 in C:/windows/system32 and then it worked when I clicked put it down there.

The multimedia keyboard still isn't working though. I'm wondering if I would need to reinstall all of that stuff (i don't think so) or if I need to put sndvol32 somewhere else.

I actually tried to do that last night but it didn't work. I guess I was trying to put it in the wrong folder. :blush: :lol:

Edited by Jenna91, 29 January 2013 - 09:02 AM.

  • 0

#29
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Yep just been looking at the services in my XP, Windows Audio should be at automatic start (the default setting ) could you check that
[attachment=62798:Capture.JPG]

Also download the attached zip file which contains a good copy of soundvol32
Unzip the file and extract to c:\Windows\system32
Ok for the over write request
[attachment=62799:sndvol32.zip]
  • 0

#30
Jenna91

Jenna91

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
yup, that is the way mine looks now too. ;)
http://img15.imagesh...27/40299683.png

Now the only mystery i'm trying to figure out is why my multimedia stuff on my keyboard isn't working. If I can figure that out my comp is good to go. :thumbsup:
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP