Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Some Help with possible Virus [Solved]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#1
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
Hi

I wasnt sure where to post this so please move as necessary.

I need some help please.
Just after Christmas I noticed that my laptop had that FBI virus.
With some help from someone more tech minded than me we managed to remove it.

However now a few problems still exist that the other guy couldnt help with and suggested posting on here.

Problems;

1. Full page pop up ads appear from adcash. As this laptop is used by young kids some of the ads are very unsuitable.

2. Even with the desktop open and nothing else running the Avast installed in constantly popping up saying that a malicious web site has been stopped.

3. Just today now The laptop will not start up; it tells me that it is instaling updates and just keep restarting itself.

4. TDSSKiller will not run.

5. ASWMbr will not run.



I am not really tech minded so I apologise in advance for that.


Please help.

Many Thanks

Edited by TheTorment, 29 January 2013 - 04:09 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Hi there it sounds like you have a bad partition containing malware, can you post a screenshot of the Avast malware popup

Lets see if we can locate it

  • Download RogueKiller and save it on your desktop.

    NOTE: If using IE8 or better Smartscreen Filter will need to be disabled
  • Quit all programs
  • Start RogueKiller.exe.
  • Wait until Prescan has finished ...
  • Click on Scan
Posted Image

  • Wait for the end of the scan.
  • The report has been created on the desktop.
  • Click on the Delete button.
Posted Image
  • The report has been created on the desktop.

  • Next click on the ShortcutsFix
    Posted Image
  • The report has been created on the desktop.

Please post: All RKreport.txt text files located on your desktop.
  • 0

#3
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
Hi
Thanks for the reply

Im afraid I cant do anything with the laptop now as it will not start up.

It says that it is configuring 3 of 3 updates is at 0% then restarts itself.....keeps repeating this process.

Any suggestions?

Edited by TheTorment, 29 January 2013 - 08:45 AM.

  • 0

#4
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Certainly what is the operating system of the computer i.e. XP, Vista, 7 or 8
Is it 32 or 64bit

Do you have a USB drive/stick handy
  • 0

#5
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
It is XP. 32 bit I think but not sure.

I have a USB ready.
  • 0

#6
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Download Peazip to the desktop
Run and install the programme
As it installs this page will show, deselect the AVG ticks
Press decline and it will then install cleanly

Posted Image

Download the following files to the desktop .. Right click the links and select save as...then select desktop

Iso2disc

OTLPE_standard

Right click OTLPE on your desktop and select ..Open as archive

Posted Image


Select OTLPE standard

Posted Image

Click Extract, ensure that desktop is selected

Posted Image

Insert the USB stick Then run ISO2disc

Posted Image

Select the ISO file on the desktop, select Burn to USB Flash Drive .
Press Start Burn

Once the USB has burnt then

[*]Download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to the flash drive.

  • Reboot your system using the boot USB you just created.
    Note : If you do not know how to set your computer to boot from USB follow the steps here
  • As the Programme needs to detect your hardware and load the operating system, I would recommend a nice cup of tea whilst it loads :)
  • Your system should now display a Reatogo desktop.
  • Locate the flash drive and run FSRT
  • The tool will start to run.
    Posted Image
  • When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
  • Press Scan button.
  • It will make a log (FRST.txt) on the flash drive. Please copy and paste it to your reply.

  • 0

#7
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
I think I understand but I cant get the laptop to get as far as the desktop without restarting.

After powering on it goes to the start up screen then blank and then a screen where it says that it is "configuring 3 of 3 updates- 0%
please do not turn off your computer"

The laptop then restarts itself and the process keeps repeating



edit: I re-read that and will try in the morning. I left sick laptop in work. Thanks

Edited by TheTorment, 29 January 2013 - 01:19 PM.

  • 0

#8
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
You will need to create the USB using another computer, that will then enable us to access the sick one
  • 0

#9
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
yeah I figured that....eventually :)

It is saving to usb now

Thanks!
  • 0

#10
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
Good Morning

I cant seem to load from the usb.

On the link for how to set bios I dont see one for a Toshiba laptop. Is it the same as other ones?
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Toshiba detailed instructions are here http://www.ehow.com/...-boot-usb_.html
  • 0

#12
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
Hi.
Ive followed the instructions for that now I get this message

NTLDR is missing
Press any key to restart
  • 0

#13
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
This is what is on the USB.

Have I everything correct?

Attached Thumbnails

  • Whats on USB.jpg

  • 0

#14
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Prior to getting that do you get the following message "Press any key to boot from CD"
  • 0

#15
TheTorment

TheTorment

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
no message like that.

On the Boot part of Setup I have these options

1. USB Memory
2. HDD Toshiba MK1652GSX(S1)
3. FDD
4. CD/DVD MATSHITADVD-RAM UJ880AS(S4)
5.LAN

I pick USB and hit F10. Screen goes blank then I get the NTLDR message
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP